ease back in…

19 Jul

Hello friends!

It’s been a while!

It’s been a busy summer! So far, I’ve…

…helped coach a softball team.

…stayed up  all night  (all but 45 minutes), with a bunch of middle schoolers dressed up in a super hero costume.

…planned a vacation, and am anxiously awaiting to take it.

…celebrated two years of wonderful marriage to an amazing man.

…watch crazy lightening and thunderstorms on our balcony.

…thrown my husband a birthday celebration.

…been training for my first ever race, a 5k!

…tried to grasp and manage my new position at work.

…tried to stay as gluten, dairy, corn and soy free as possible.

It has been so busy and there have been so many things that I wish that I could have done (go to a few weddings, go to camp with our youth group, went to graduation celebrations, etc) but I’ve done what I can and that’s all I can do.

Amongst all this busy-ness, I’ve had hardly any time to tackle my reading list. So I thought to ease back into “blogging it up”, I would review a book that I started and finished quite some time ago.

A Homemade Life

by Molly Wizenberg.

I truly loved this book! It was like reading a blog but without having to wait for pages and photos to load. I loved that I could zoom right through this baby and I truly love the way Molly writes. It’s simple, clean and completely entertaining.

Molly tells of her life, bouncing around from childhood to present. Not only does she have great humor in her writing but it is accompanied by family, friends and personal recipes that have come right out of her own experiences. She openly speaks of moments of embarassment, pride, devastation and happiness, all rolled up in to her words and recipes. Reading this book makes not only makes me want to get in the kitchen and create my own family recipes but also encourages me to be a better writer. I can’t wait to try some of her decadent but simple recipes too! I loved this “diary” (of sorts) and hope to read her next! I highly recommend this book, especially if you have a love for food and living a full life!

So there you have it. An ease back onto the blog-wagon.

Peace be with you…

Kaleigh

4 Responses to “ease back in…”

  1. Carol August 11, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    Thank you for the review, I will check this book out upon my next visit to barnes and noble. I’m always looking for a good read.

    • Kaleigh August 15, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

      I’m glad I could help! Happy reading :)

  2. Sarah August 23, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    This sounds like a great book, I’m going to add it to my Nook wish list :) Sounds like you’ve had a really busy, but fun summer!

    • Kaleigh August 27, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

      Ha! Yes, very busy summer indeed! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

