Concerned about what may lie ahead…

9 Aug

This morning I ran with Sam. This is a big deal. One, I have not been consistently active for awhile. Two, Sam runs fast and he is strong. In the past running with him has not been all that enjoyable. Too much sniffing  and cutting across my feet and not enough focus.

A little more explanation on the ‘I have not been active’ part… well you see I used to be a softball player. Lots of activity, lots of food, not any extra flab. It was a beautiful thing. That has been a few years ago now and I must admit that it has been hard to get into a serious or at least semi-serious workout routine. After our epic camping trip (in which my calves are still sore), I thought that it would be a good jumping off point to get more exercise in. Make it a priority. Seriously.

So I woke up at 4:45 this morning. It felt extremely early, but I wasn’t sleeping well anyways, so what the heck, might as well go for a run. It was still dark. I was nervous. Earlier in the morning I thought I heard something resembling gun shots… probably just a dream, or a car back-firing.  Nonetheless, this made me uneasy about venturing out into the dark by myself. I took one look at Sam, barely awake he was, and I said, “You want to come with me?” He jumped up in a jiffy (seemingly saying, ‘I thought you’d never ask!’) and there we were, running around a shopping center in the dark.

With my confidence boosted by my loyal boy, it went really well. He did minimal amounts of sniffing and ran like a good doggy would. He definitely was barely trotting as I was struggling to keep up, but I’ll get better. I was proud of him and me.

But now to address the name of this post…

In all reality I should have taken Molly. She is our feisty 8 month old pup. She has had many bouts of destruction in our little apartment. Because of this, she is now relegated to spend her days in the bathroom while Kyle and I are not at home. She has inordinate amounts of energy and when she’s in the bathroom for longer than 5 hours… well things get messy. She loves to chew up anything that she can reach on the counter. Last night, she chewed up my deodorant and a toothpaste bottle (second time on that one, now out of commission).

She’s even more strong than Sam. And she has serious ADD. I can barely take her on a walk, let alone a run.

Kyle and I usually have opposite schedules so she’s never in there for very long, but today we had the same work day hours. So this means she is going to be in there for at least 8 hours. Serious trouble. I tried to clear away as many chewable items as possible, gave her plenty of fun toys… but she still always finds something. I am afraid of what may be waiting for us upon arrival.

I’m really hoping that we can train her as well as Sam so she can join in on the early runs. Goodness knows she needs it. And of course, this will be entirely dependent on the fact that I continue the morning runs. Goodness knows I need it.

Here’s to me getting healthier and Molly being a good girl today!

2 Responses to “Concerned about what may lie ahead…”

  1. Kyle August 10, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

    Great Post dear! And update Molly was great…no issues and happy as always when we got home!

  2. Tori @ FIToriBLOG.com August 22, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

    Oh the joys of puppihood!

Leave a Reply

