Easy Peasy Produce

19 Aug

I must say that I am so excited for tomorrow. Is it pathetic because it is because of food?! I have been doing some grocery shopping research for my job and I was introduced to a wonderful service called Door to Door Organics.  This is a co-op delivery service that brings organic foods straight to your doorstep. Sometimes these kinds of things (CSA’s, etc) are very strict about what you get delivered in the sense that you get what you get (and you don’t throw a fit), but Door to Door allows you to change out items in your order as you see fit. They also have a decent selection of other all-natural or organic dry goods (canned beans, olive oil, vinegars, snacks, etc.) that you can add on to your order of produce. I am really excited because I have chosen the ‘small local’ box, so all our produce is going to be coming from where we live and I’m forced to buy and eat in-season produce. For some reason it feels very European to me, but with an American twist. I do know what we will be receiving, but some of the things we’re getting, I do not normally cook with or have never used before. SO I can’t wait to try new recipes and take advantage of what the earth is giving us right now!

Here is what we will be getting dropped off to us:  fennel bunch, yellow wax beans, mint bunch, sweet corn, pea sprouts, yellow squash, green leaf lettuce, green onions, collard greens, broccoli, and peaches! (I think… this may be next weeks order. I’m not 100% sure…still new to this)

I have never used pea sprouts before, and rarely buy fennel, wax beans, or mint at the grocery (side note: Kyle makes fun of me that I call it the ‘grocery’… I don’t get what’s so funny about that??? I guess I am supposed to say ‘grocery store’??). But anyways, it is going to be really fun to ‘push the envelope’, so to speak, to try new things and mold our meals around what we get in our box rather than buying food to accommodate our recipes.

I have not done a strict comparison on cost as compared to other stores, mainly because I don’t exactly know the quantity of each thing I am getting or really what the price is of each thing (we just paid a total price and they have not provided a break down yet). So when we get our first box, I may be able to calculate and compare prices. And I have a good feeling that this is going to be totally WORTH IT!!!

This is a great service for people who are really busy, hate going grocery shopping, want to eat quality organic produce and dry goods, and/or love to get packages!! I can’t wait to get ours. I will post pictures and hopefully delicious recipes to go along with!

Enjoy your Thursday!

4 Responses to “Easy Peasy Produce”

  1. Tori @ FIToriBLOG.com August 22, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    Ok, NOW I’m jealous!!! What a great service!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Little Foodie Heart Is Broken « 2 People, 2 Dogs, 1 Apartment - August 21, 2010

    […] 20 Aug Where’s our produce!!?? […]

  2. Weekend Fun « 2 People, 2 Dogs, 1 Apartment - August 30, 2010

    […] I got home from the craft show, I still had my baking bug. I decided to use the zucchini from our box, and made… zucchini bread of […]

  3. New Beginnings « 2 People, 2 Dogs, 1 Apartment - September 27, 2010

    […] we got them in our box, they were mostly green with hints of YELLOW. Mysteriously they started changing orange, and now […]

Leave a Reply

