Delicious Blog-inspired lunch

26 Aug

Yesterday I had an amazing lunch! And I must say, I was not expecting it to be as mind-blowing as it was. First off, I am doing a bit of a ‘cleanse’, which I will post about soon, so I am trying to concentrate on a much more plant-based diet than I normally do. I do my share of lurking around the blogosphere and my lunch reflected a few ideas I’ve adopted from other bloggers that I admire. First up, throughout the morning at work I roasted a sweet potato wrapped in foil  in our toaster oven. I thought this may be a flop but it turned out great! And following the lead from Heather, I had my first Sunbutter and baked sweet potato combo.

Sweet and creamy!

Probably the orange plate was not the best backdrop for the potato, but it’s all I had! I love them both separately, didn’t think they would be so good together, but they were! The second part of my lunch was inspired by Holly. Can’t say I’ve ever had nutritional yeast (aka nooch) before and I have trouble with dairy (which is not allowed on this cleanse) so I bought a carton of nutritional yeast to give it a try for a cheesy replacement. I sprinkled this unusual thing on a spinach/romaine and garbanzo bean salad, along with simple olive oil and balsamic  vinegar.

And a couple of falafel too! All of these things together really hit the spot! I don’t feel like I got a lot of cheesiness from the yeas though. I may just need to add more. But as I was eating this, I could tell my whole body was really happy with what I was putting in!

In other news, tomorrow is the day! OFFICIALLY. We have some delicious meals planned around our box and I can’t wait to share it all with you! Stay tuned!

One Response to “Delicious Blog-inspired lunch”

  1. Holly August 30, 2010 at 6:42 am #

    yayyyyy so glad you liked the nooch! and i *LOVE* sweet potato and nut butter. also a great combo 🙂

Leave a Reply

