Quality time with Helga

2 Sep

So for those of you who don’t know my bike’s name is Helga.  While she might not be the prettiest thing to look at, and she might not be dressed up in the latest and greatest cycling fashion she is beautiful to me in her own way.  Helga is my first and only road bike, throughout the few years I have owned her I have made a few upgrades and she has shown her appreciation by getting me through some tough days in the saddle.  Helga and I spend a lot of time together.  She has seen me smile, scream, cry-out in pain, and question myself and through it all she has been there with me, urging me to go on, ready to go whenever I am.

Yesterday was my day off and Helga and I decided to celebrate by heading out into Boulder and hammering up some local climbs.  On the list for today…Sunshine Canyon, Flagstaff Mountain, and NCAR (Each of these climbs will be reviewed in depth in a later series on local climbs).  Below is a photo journal of the first part of the trip…

A few of the essentials

Helga...ready to go while I refill a bottle

The view from the gas station in Boulder...thats right the GAS STATION!

On a day with Helga even waiting at a stoplight deserves a picture

Seems secret gardenish...but alas its time to enter the pain cave

A few miles in...after that left turn the steepness really begins

One of the many false summits, this was the beginning of some high altitude rollers

It's GO-TIME!

Steep Dirt...Check

Amazing Views...Check

Strange things to look at...Check

Altitude...Check

Helga hanging out with another form of transportation. And yes the bus route is called "The Climb"

After a sketchy dirt descent...Helga and I head home

THE FACTS:
Sunshine Canyon is a climb that is home to the annual Sunshine Hill Climb and is a very brutal climb right in the heart of Boulder.  Over the 9.14 mile climb you gain 3226 ft and end at an altitude of 8426 ft.  The average grade is 7.6% and the maximum grade is a leg searing 23.1%!!

If you want to see the entire ride with profile click HERE

2 Responses to “Quality time with Helga”

  1. Tina September 7, 2010 at 8:12 am #

    What gorgeous scenery for a ride! Sounds like a great one. I love your special bond with Helga. 🙂

    • Kyle September 8, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

      Yeah it was gorgeous! And the crazy thing is I can ride there everyday if I want to!! And yup Helga is one of my three special girls (the others being Kaleigh and Molly…ha)

Leave a Reply

