A Weekend of Healing- Saturday

18 Sep

It is so strange how God works in our lives. You go through your days thinking that everything is going great, you are where you need to be, you are doing what you are meant to do (well at least for a while). And then BAM! Your whole world changes. Without any real warning. And all you can think is…”Now what?”

You try to be positive in bad circumstances. You want to be. But its so hard. It’s so hard to see what these circumstances mean. What do I do now? What is the plan for ME?

Friday was a really tough day for the 2 people.

Comfort foods and relaxing immediately ensued. Things such as pizza, Amy’s macaroni and cheese, pbfingers flourless peanut butter cookies and CANDY CORN! We definitely did not hold back.

Pure sugar, but it isn't fall without them!

This weekend is meant for healing. Meant for relaxing. Reflecting. Praying. Trusting.

A LOT of trusting. Trusting that the plan for us is good. Trusting that things are going to be ok. Trusting that something so great is going to come out of this.

This morning I woke up to this.

Very fitting for the mood. A dreary and cool (but welcomed) beginging to the day. This absolutely meant warm oatmeal and “coffee”.  On a side note, since I have been on my detox, I haven’t had caffeine in about a month and a half. I tried it a few days ago, and it didn’t go well. Heartburn. So I ordered this…

It’s called Teeccino. We got a 12 pack sampler so we can try a bunch of different flavors! It is herbal tea  that is supposed to taste very similar coffee. It has no caffeine in it, but has natural energy boosters. I am hoping that I am going to like  it because I don’t think my tummy can handle the acidity of coffee very well :(. This is very depressing because I LOVE coffee!

We decided to try the Hazelnut variety this morning.

Brews just like coffee.

It was good. Not amazing. The flavor was not very strong so I think the next batch we try, we’ll use less water. No heartburn though!

My oatmeal on the other hand WAS AMAZING! The best I’ve had in a looong time! It was like I was eating banana bread batter! It was oats, with banana, vanilla, cinnamon, ginger, ground cloves, walnuts, brown sugar and cut up gala apples.

After watching a little football, we decided to walk over to the small dairy farm that is right behind our apartment complex. They were putting on a fall festival! Perfect day for it!

piggies!

Complete with camel rides and llamas!

Here’s what I was hoping with all my heart that we would find here!!!

It's hard to tell but this guy was huge! Bigger than a toilet bowl! (I couldn't think of anything better)

PUMPKINS!!!!

Here’s what we came home with! I am so excited! I have been longing for home roasted pumpkin for about a month now! It’s definitely the secret to making deep flavored and delicious pumpkin bread!

First pumpkin of the season!!

Beautiful!

Kyle had to work this afternoon and evening, so I watched some more football, took a nap, went for an hour long work out and made some stuffed peppers for dinner. And had another cookie. Day one has been nice. Heart warming, soul soothing and laid back. I am grateful for this day. I hope tomorrow will be just as wonderful.

One Response to “A Weekend of Healing- Saturday”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New Beginnings « 2 People, 2 Dogs, 1 Apartment - September 27, 2010

    […] must say, this was NOT my best batch. I think it is because my pumpkin was picked too early, it seems like it was rushed. You can kinda tell in the above picture, not […]

Leave a Reply

