A Weekend of Healing- Sunday

20 Sep

As Kyle mentioned, we did not do much of anything on Sunday. And it was great! Well, Kyle had to work a few hours in the morning, so he did something, but after that, we just hung around the house.

I slept in and then woke up and made an ultimate comfort food… chocolate chip pancakes!!

Topped with walnuts, butter, maple syrup and banana slices!

Accompanied by Teeccino. Kyle made some before he left for work and he went with the Caffe Organic variety.

Molly believes this is meant for her. Dream on pup!

It is earthy and good, just not blowing my mind yet.

I know Kyle used less water, but the taste still seemed weak to me. I think I will try it in the french press tomorrow and see what that gives us.

After doing some cleaning Kyle got home. We hung around all day, watching football, reading, laughing at the dogs, ENJOYING each other’s company (due to conflicting work schedules, this has been a rare occurrence). We snacked on more candy corn and cookies. I had a bagel! I haven’t had one in so long. I also had leftovers from Saturday night. Stuffed peppers. I kind of went off of Julie’s recipe. I didn’t have several things she used and I also added some things.

Easy Stuffed Peppers

2 medium peppers (I had one HUGE one and one small)

2 eggs

2 tomatoes, pureed

1/2 small can sliced black olives

1 small onion, finely chopped

about 1 T of seasoning from Lipton Pasta Sides Alfredo, or onion powder

5 oz can tuna, water drained

4 mushrooms, diced

Salt and Pepper to taste

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Cover a cookie sheet with foil. Mix all ingredients in a medium bowl. Slice peppers in half and rip out the top with all the seeds attached. Lay the peppers on the foil, cut side facing up. Distribute filling evenly among the pepper halves. Bake for 25 minutes or until filling is warm.

These were really easy and awesome. Kyle thought they needed more spice (=heat), so you may want to add some hot sauce to the filling before scooping it into the peppers.

After lunch was a nap, more hanging around and church. It was amazing because the message and music at church was exactly what I needed to hear. It’s so strange but so comforting that this happens more often than not.

Afterwards, we were treated to some Baskin Robbins. Cookie dough is just too good. Thanks Papa and Mama B!! So kind of you to take us out.

So things that came out of this weekend:

  1. Clearly God feels I need  a break. A time to sit back and do things I’ve really been wanting to do. Time to dream. Time to get to be with Kyle and have a lot more fun with him. Time to have fun with the dogs. I even made a list of things I’d like to do with all my “free time”. I’m a big list person.
  2. This is a time to discover something else. Something new.  It may not be the ideal job right now, but a job is a job.  Which leads me to my next point…
  3. Don’t take anything for granted. I’m reminded of this yet again. You think you know what the plan is, but it’s not. Things are always changing. Don’t take your job, your life, your friends or family or anything else for granted because before you know it, it’s gone. Without any warning. And there is absolutely nothing you can do about it.
  4. This kind of is the same thing as point #3, but appreciate the little things. It’s hard when your tired and you’ve been running around like crazy because… well life is crazy, but don’t forget to pay attention to little things that warm your heart. Like a faint glow behind the mountains at 8:30 pm, getting to laize about with some one you care for, the sweet look that your puppy gives you as you scratch their belly, giving your significant other a heartfelt, but simple compliment, the way sunshine trickles on your skin and can give you goosebumps. I’m drawing from these little things to really give great joy to my days.
  5. Don’t stop dreaming. Even though you think you are where you should be, it doesn’t mean you can’t keep on dreaming up other amazing things you can do with your time here on this earth. Have confidence that YOU are capable of wonderful things. What happened in the past does not define the rest of your life and the future leaves open so many possibilities of things that can be accomplished to help others.
  6. I knew this very well before, but I just want to throw it out there that I have an amazing husband. He is strong, positive, loving and caring. He is my rock. He gives me hope and makes me shoot for the stars. He rocks my world.
  7. I have a lot of room for growth, but I’ve come a long way. All I can do is trust and pray.
  8. Readers, you are likely to benefit from our situation as we are going to have to start getting very savvy with ways to save money. I plan to develop new recipes and find more ways to save money (cause it’s going to get tight here real soon). I’ll will pass on all our low-cost recipes and money saving tips to you!

This weekend was wonderful. Just what my heart, mind, body and soul needed. I hope yours was just as fulfilling.

Love,

Kaleigh

Leave a Reply

