Coffee and Pet Peeves

12 Oct

So on this rainy morning still feeling semi-sick while watching SportsCenter I began to muse over my day ahead and things that tend to bug me…otherwise known as pet peeves.  I am not 100% sure where the name pet peeves comes from so I decided to use the Google and find out.  According to the authority known as Wikipedia a pet peeve is “a minor annoyance that an individual identifies as particularly annoying to him or her, to a greater degree than others may find it.”  Ok sounds about right so where does the term come from?  … The word peevish.  Meaning ornery or ill-tempered.  Again that does make sense, chalk up a point to Wikipedia.  As I begin to sip the last of our coffee with the rain spattering against my window, and a new knowledge gained from Wikipedia I start my list of what makes me peevish…

1.  Wearing sunglasses inside – Why? Do people really think this makes them look cooler or more important?  I really see no reason why you would want to wear sunglasses inside.  There are no UV rays trying to penetrate into your cornea and make blind.  There is no wind propelling small objects into your delicate peepers.  So what is the appeal?  Someone please answer me!!

2.  Constant iPod usage – I will be the first one to admit that I love listening to music.  It is great way to spend your time.  But I will also be the first one to say that it is getting a little out of hand.  We are turning into a world of robots that have no interaction at all during the entire day.  When you have your earphones on as soon as you leave your house, all the way to school, work or wherever, at work, school or wherever and then all the way home you miss out on so much of what life actually is!  There are soooo many awesome people, and amazing experiences out there that you will never ever meet or experience if you don’t take those stupid buds out of your ears and interact with your surroundings!

3.  Wearing a hands-free headset outside your car – Bluetooth technology is awesome!  I love the idea of being able to talk on your phone without holding your phone while driving but seriously it needs to stay in the car.  I don’t know how many times I have been out in the world (on the bus, in a store, whatever) and started a conversation with someone who was in no way, shape or form talking to me.  They were talking to someone else via their headset…Sometimes it even creates a very awkward situation when they are having what should be a very private conversation and you get to hear all the details.  Add into it the fact that you look like a member of the Borg and there really is no good reason to take these valuable devices outside the confines of your car.

4.  Christians – I do consider myself a Christian and am very proud to be one, but seriously guys and girls we are doing way more harm than good!  It is so frustrating to me to hear some of the CRAP that comes out of “Christians” mouths!  I want to yell at these people “Do you even know what are you saying? Have you even read the Bible? Do you even know anything about what Jesus taught?”   What gives you the right to condemn others for their sin when you yourself have your own sin to worry about?  I mean seriously, that is what we call being a hypocrite.  If we start throwing stones at others it is only a matter of time before the stones will be coming your way.  Instead of condemning others and secluding ourselves why don’t we love others and say “me too” once in a while?  Because honestly Christians are the number one reason why people hate Christianity and I can’t blame them for that!

5.  Bad drivers – I have zero patience for bad drivers.  Out of everything in my life this is the one area that causes me the most stress and gets me more angry than I would like to admit.  It is an area I am trying to become less angry about but everyday I find new reasons to get upset…so much so that it is going to need its own post (soon to come).

6.  Kids on Leashes? – If you don’t know what I am talking about just check out this picture:

Seriously?!?! I don’t even think I need to say anything about this one…

 

That’s all for now.  Hopefully you don’t think I’m a really angry person, I’m not.  In fact I am really easy going person, there are just a few things that irk me (Just wait till the Driving Post).  But if you believe me I don’t care…ha!

2 Responses to “Coffee and Pet Peeves”

  1. Ed October 15, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

    I always thought pet peeves came from small things that really tick you off. Small things being something rather petty, hence “pet.”

    As far as kids on leashes are concerned, that’s just begging for therapy later on. “Mommy treated my like a dog…”

    • Kyle October 24, 2010 at 4:41 pm #

      I think you are right with the “pet” part…and peevish gives us peeves. And kids on leashes are begging for therapy! How about we just discipline our children? Or maybe put down the cell phone and interact with them? There’s an idea!

Leave a Reply

