Long Lost Me

25 Oct

It has been a while since I’ve got my butt in gear and written a post! I have definitely wanted to, but my new job is quite exhausting…in a good way though! Although I’ve been long-lost here on the blog, I feel quite at home at my new job. I really feel it is where I need to be and I am loving it!  While I was working as a nutritionist, I was sitting at a desk all day. Now I am running around like crazy. I feel as though I like this much better, but I forgot what it was like to have an active job! I feel like a VERY OLD woman. I’ve been sore and pooped. I really need some comfortable shoes! And I must say I was really excited to buy new socks!!! That will tell you how often I buy myself things (Kyle takes care of that!).

My old socks were like putting tissue paper on. Needless to say, I needed some new ones extremely bad! These guys feel so amazing, nice and fluffy.

The past couple of weeks, fall has really been taking hold of the weather. We’ve had rainy, dreary days and cool sunny days. I don’t know if this is really true, but I think the nights of fall are different than any others here in Colorado. They are very crisp, the clouds have a glowy, almost purple shadow to them, and the air smells like a bonfire. It really makes you feel cozy and alive. I love fall!!

Today we went to pick our own pumpkins!!

We got two for carving, two for roasting (yummm!) and one acorn squash. Despite it being extremely cold outside, it was a really cool place. We went to a pumpkin farm a few miles from our house. It was so amazing how many pumpkins they grew!! It was funny because as we were driving away, Kyle said “I feel sad for all the ones that didn’t get picked.”

I said, “I know, I want to eat them all.”

It was kind of like going to a puppy store and wanting to bring them all home!! But I certainly would never have the desire to eat puppy.

Yes, we’re weird.

Anyways, I’m writing to share my favorite pumpkin cookie recipe!!

It comes from the Everyday Food Magazine from 3 years ago.

Chocolate Glazed Pumpkin Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour, spooned and leveled
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin-pie spice (but I use 1 tsp because I love the spice!)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 c unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 c sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 can (15 oz) pure pumpkin puree
  • 4 oz semisweet chocolate, chopped or chips

Method:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, pie-spice and salt; set aside.

Using an electric mixer, beat together butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add egg; beat until smooth. With mixer on low speed, alternately add flour mixture in two parts and pumpkin puree in one, beginning and ending with flour mixture; mix just until combined (do not overmix).

Drop dough by heaping tablespoons onto two baking sheets, about 1.5 inches apart. Bake until puffed and edges are golden, 15-20 minutes, rotating once during baking. Immediately transfer cookies to wire racks, and cool completely.

When cookies have cooled, set them (still on rack) over a baking sheet or waxed paper. Place chocolate in a medium bowl set over (not in) a saucepan of simmering water; stir until almost melted. Remove from heat; stir until completely melted. Pour chocolate into a resealable plastic bag. Snip off a corner with scissors to make a 1/8-inch hole; pipe chocolate over cookies. Refrigerate until chocolate is firm, about 20 minutes (I skipped this last step, because the hubs wanted one STAT, and me too).

These babies are cake-like, like the tops of cupcakes….oh yes do they rock!!!

Please try them!!!

In other news, Molly has developed a very interesting habit. One time I made some zucchini bread. She got very excited and acted like she wanted some of the batter, shaking her tail violently and looking up at me like she does when she is about to get a treat. I was licking the spatula at the time so I held it out and she went crazy with licks on it, trying to actually eat the spatula. So I then set the mixing bowl on the ground and let her have a go at that. Well turns out she is just like me and LOVES batter. Now any time I lick anything, she feels she is also entitled to some. Today was no different:

Awww! Makes me proud! And it helps with clean-up!!

Kaleigh

3 Responses to “Long Lost Me”

  1. Holly October 26, 2010 at 6:37 am #

    awww glad to see a new post from you! it makes me want to go pumpkin picking 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I felt like making muffins… « 2 People, 2 Dogs, 1 Apartment - January 6, 2011

    […] my little batter monster was not around so I had to lick up the […]

  2. weekend hunting « 2 People, 2 Dogs, 1 Apartment - October 6, 2011

    […] just like last time, we wanted to take them all home. But the baby gave us an excuse to take home […]

Leave a Reply

