Traditions

20 Dec

Ok, so the past couple weeks have been very warm. And I will tell you I am VERY much a traditionalist. Christmas time and warmth don’t compute with me. We really have not got much snow, even to speak of. There’s been a couple days that I didn’t need my jacket when walking to work. This is concerning to me. BUT, I always can count on there being cold and snow up in Winter Park. This is where we go to cut down our Christmas tree every year. It is a tradition that we do with my dad, his brother and wife and my cousin and her family.

We stay in the same condo, usually a couple nights. We have the same long-standing jokes that have to be repeated. We always go in the hot tub, and usually do some tubing. It’s amazing.

Ahh yes. This feels like Christmas. It was cold, but not a lot of snow. It flurried a little but no big dump of snow like we were really hoping for. This weekend went QUICK! We did a little bit of shopping…

Hat shopping 🙂 This is my uncle. Funny thing is, the fake hat “hair” looks like his real hair!

Walked the dogs. My dad has two dogs, plus our two, and therefore this equals a lot of chaos. We have a pack of canines. A dog sled team… except they aren’t smart enough to combine their efforts to drag out our trees for us.

We watched a couple Christmas movies and ate. Oh how we eat! This is Kyle’s favorite part of the whole weekend. We get to eat some really amazing meals during this get-away. All of it, not great for the waist-line, but certainly yummy for the soul. Homemade hash browns, bacon, bacon, bacon, eggs, lasagna, cowboy spaghetti… cupcakes!!

We did an especially fun and special activity this trip. We made a trophy for who ever nabs the best tree! Each piece on the trophy has a deeply meaningful significance. Except maybe Kyle’s token Star Wars lego men.

There it is. In all her glory. It was such a blast to make this! Hopefully WE found the beauty that puts all others to shame! We always celebrate my birthday up here… so the traditional sweet treat is always present.

Molly and me resting before the big trek the next day.

Up on the mountain: Enter snow!!! It’s silly, and every year we debate this, but we go pretty far up the mountain to our sweet spot. Our “Eureka” spot, if you will. I can’t even tell you how far we go up, but it’s far, and it’s hard. It wouldn’t be so bad if the snow wasn’t so deep and other people actually ventured up there as well.

NEWS FLASH: I am out of shape. Period. Here I am, sucking wind. I love everyone’s face in this picture. It really gets across the idea that the actual tree retrieving part is not really all that fun… except for the person taking the picture. Whom of which is Kyle. He’s been training and exercising regularly, so this was a light jaunt for him.

Despite the laborious trek, this park is so unbelievably beautiful!!

And the dogs have a blast!!!!

It truly is a family tradition that I hope we never let die. It is so nice to take a long weekend and laugh and eat with my family. The thought of this weekend warms my heart and I am so happy that we get to do it year after year.

And our spoils…? Well thar she blows!!

Sans decoration and drying out, you know, from all the snow.

Snow?

What?

When did it snow?!

Oh yeah, a day after we left. And just about every day since we’ve been gone.

And down here, where we live? Nada.

Humpff. Humbug.

2 Responses to “Traditions”

  1. Sarah December 21, 2010 at 9:33 am #

    I was thinking about you on your birthday and hoping you guys got an awesome tree! Yay!

  2. k8eb8e December 21, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

    Oh my Kaleigh bear! I’m so happy that you had such a good time. The tree is stupendous. I miss you probably too much than I should =-) And what is this cowboy spaghetti you speak of? I feel the need to be in on this one … PS Did Kyle tell you I came to his work the other night?

Leave a Reply

