What ‘Whole’ Nuts Have Taught Me

4 Jan

As I was pondering some new year goals, I also was thinking upon some lessons I have learned from food. Nuts, to be specific.

Lesson #1: Don’t judge a nut by its cover.

After I brought our most recent bag of mixed nuts home, I started examining them a little closer. The outside of the almonds looked a little shriveled. I immediately regretted my inattentiveness in purchasing them, figuring that they were old and rancid. In the recent business of the holidays, I forgot about the appearance of said almonds when I quickly packed them for a snack at work. In a moment of desperate hunger, all I had were the nuts I had brought. I took an extremely hesitant nibble, with every expectation of my gag reflex kicking in at any point. But much to my surprise, it tasted like, well a regular almond. On the contrary, I have also taken a huge bite out of a perfect looking Brazil nut only to spit it out as quick as a habitual tobacco chewer. Point of the “lesson” is that you should not judge anyone or anything based on their external appearances. Life will always surprise you.

Lesson #2: Be brave to try new things.

On a fellow Coloradan’s blog, I have been noticing that she puts whole nuts in her oatmeal and other breakfasts. Her pictures always look beautiful and in my opinion, the whole nuts are the most visually appealing part of the breakfast bowls. I thought to myself, “I can’t imagine eating a whole nut all in one bite,” especially if I am not really all that awake. I always put sliced, slivered or broken apart nuts in my foods. But guess what, after more hesitation on my part, I tried it, and I loved it. It was actually quite amazing. I suddenly remembered the creator of Naked granola comment on how all the “other” granola makers did not put whole nuts in their mix, but they wanted to be different and put the whole shebang in theirs. She said, “I work hard enough, give me a whole nut for goodness sakes.” Now I truly understand what she means.

There does seem to be a little bit of a secondary theme starting to take shape here; stop being hesitant to live.

Lesson #3: Be better in-tune with what I am putting into my temple (aka my body).

Without getting too scientific on ya, every human cell is composed of three main parts; the plasma membrane (the outer surface), the nucleus (where all the DNA lives), and the cytoplasm (everything in between the plasma membrane and the nucleus).

a cell.

 

The plasma membrane is what allows (or doesn’t) things that are floating around in our bodies to enter into our cells; VERY important. The membrane is made up of many things, but the main components are phospholipids with fatty acids ends. Our bodies use the fats and oils that we eat to build these plasma membranes. Therefore, we ARE what we eat. If I am putting in sub-par fats and oils into my body, then every cell in my body is going to be sub-par as well and that will only lead to worse issues. I don’t want to be fried chicken and hydrogenated oils. Gross. I want to be almonds, fish and flax; natural and healthy.

Lesson #4: On a less philosophical note, chew thoroughly. Several times at work, I have been working with a customer and could barely breathe because a small piece from my snack was lodged in my throat.

But actually, this does still have a philosophical twist: slow down and enjoy it. Savor my food. And life in general.

Appreciate every moment.

 

Kaleigh

 

 

2 Responses to “What ‘Whole’ Nuts Have Taught Me”

  1. Sarah January 5, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    I love this. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. not your average pea soup « 2 People, 2 Dogs, 1 Apartment - January 10, 2011

    […] Unfortunately it does not photograph well, but remember, don’t judge it by its looks. […]

Leave a Reply

