ready…set…NO!

19 Jan

As I was typing my last post, I had every intention of getting right up to wrastle with my to-do list. I had dreams of tackling a couple closets for the purge-o-mania, making a trip to the craft store, and getting in a long run.

Well… my body said NO.

Without any warning signs I was side-lined with tummy troubles and severe fatigue. The only thing I could figure happened was that I got a hold of one too many pieces of cheese or I got a stomach bug.

Regardless, I’ve missed 1 day of work and I’m still feeling a little “off” today. Monday evening, I was lucky enough to have my wonderful husband home by my side. I really was craving two things… and not much else… raw carrot-ginger juice and chicken noodle soup. With all the ingredients on hand for the soup at home, I figured I would just make some. In hind-sight, I must have been a little out of it thinking that I could do this because the whole evening I floated in and out of sleep. Kyle reminded me that I was sick and heroically set off to the grocery for the second time that day to buy said items.

Kyle brought home Amy’s No Chicken Noodle soup (ie vegetarian soy-ness), carrot juice, Tazo ginger juice, and some magazines for me. What a guy! He mixed a cocktail for me, (ie carrot and ginger juice) and it was absolutely delicious. The soup on the other hand was, well, weird tasting. I mostly slurped the juice and tried to eat around the tofu.

The next day, I was feeling significantly better but I still wanted soup.

Need Some Help Chicken Noodle Soup- gluten free

Ingredients:

2 medium-large chicken breasts

2 T olive oil

1 huge carrot, or 2 medium

2 celery stalks and their leaves

1 medium onion

4 sprigs fresh thyme

1 T chopped fresh sage

1 tsp cayenne pepper

Salt and pepper to taste

8 oz noodles of your choice, I used rice vermicelli

1 can of garbanzos, drained and rinsed (optional)

64 oz of water or broth

Method:

Place chicken breasts in a large soup pot and cover with about 3-4 cups of water.

Bring to a slow boil and cook until chicken is no longer pink. Be careful not to overcook. I did do this and the chicken was a little chewy :(.

Meanwhile chop the carrot, celery and onion into a medium dice.  

Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. Add the vegetables, herbs and spices.

Cook until just slightly browning and until the carrots are crisp-tender, about 5-7 minutes.  Set aside.

When chicken is done, pull it out of the water and set aside to cool. When it is cool enough to handle, pull apart into bite-sized pieces. 

Here is where you can deviate from what I did. Personally, I like when you are eating homemade chicken noodle soup and you can see the fat float to the top of the bowl, which means flavor. What I did was strain the water that I cooked the chicken in to remove any large, unwanted chunks.

I poured the water right back into the pot I cooked it in and added extra homemade turkey stock. All of this together equaled about 64 oz of liquid. Instead, you could use all store bought stock or water but the broth/stock will be much more flavorful.

Add the cooked veggies, chicken and garbanzos to the broth and heat over medium heat.

I found these babies leftover in our pantry so I decided to go with these rather than traditional wheat noodles. I also have another reason, which I will describe in a minute. I had half a package.

I broke them in small pieces and added them to the pot. This was certainly a messy affair. 

Let the noodles cook and all the flavors come together over medium heat for about 10 minutes.

Next up, it’s time to heal!

I must admit that I am slightly very confused about my current health situation. I pondered this as I was making my gluten free soup. I clearly know that I have a dairy intolerance. But what if I am still missing something? Generally most people who have gluten intolerances also have dairy sensitivities. I feel like every time I have done an elimination diet I have rushed adding back in gluten and I haven’t really determined if this bothers me or not. I have consciously been working on my diet lately, so despite my little cheese incidence, I have no reason to be feeling so poorly.

So here comes a really big decision: I am going gluten free. This explains the choice of rice noodles in my soup. This is kind of painful considering my new-found love for beer and I am also a bread freak. I can’t help it, that’s the way my momma raised me. But all that means is that I need to keep working on expanding my baking horizons. I plan to do this for at least 2 weeks. Then I can possibly start adding it back in and see how it goes.

My soup was wonderful, despite the over-cooked chicken. I really loved the rice noodles in it. They made the soup more full, if that makes any sense. I’m going to be drinking Traditional Medicinals Every Day Detox tea every day for a while to see if this helps too. Hopefully I am going to get back on track because I was feeling really great before this glitch and I’d really like to get back to exercising and I want to finish up this house purge! Look forward for some tips on going gluten-free and of course, recipes!

Another surprise that came without any warning? A snow storm!

I walked home one hour, not needing any extra jacket, and then after a two hour nap, it was blizzarding! Until next time, take care of yourself or you might get caught off-guard yourself!

Kaleigh

One Response to “ready…set…NO!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. oh brother!/oh baby! « 2 People, 2 Dogs, 1 Apartment - January 27, 2011

    […] it though, because I wasn’t having any “known” issues with gluten. But now that I am avoiding, I’m going to dive right […]

Leave a Reply

