oh brother!/oh baby!

27 Jan

Yesterday was a rough day. I didn’t feel good. Again. I’m feeling more frustration than anything else. Needless to say, I decided that I didn’t want to lay around all day. I was refusing. I didn’t do a whole lot, but I did do something. I set out to make banana bread. Gluten free banana bread. With chocolate chips.

I decided to go off of Erin McKenna’s recipe in her book Babycakes.

Ever since I received this cookbook I have been eyeing the delicious pictures. I’ve been fading in and out of really going for it though, because I wasn’t having any “known” issues with gluten. But now that I am avoiding, I’m going to dive right in.

I was quite sure I had all the ingredients.

Until it came to the agave.

I tried to drip out as much as possible. Do you like my dripping contraption? I was pretty proud of it.

Unfortunately my ingenious contraption did not prove to be the solution. As much as I wanted there to be enough, there was only half of what the recipe called for. Oh brother.

I already had been laying on the couch in comatose for an hour by this point, if that gives you an idea of my motivation level. But for goodness sakes, this was my day off! I want a day to do what I want to do! And laying on the couch feeling like poo is NOT on my to do list. I decided to get up, walk to the store, get a little fresh air and a little kombucha. This is the first time I’ve tried this. I originally was going to go with the cocktail that Kyle made me last time, but at first glance, I couldn’t find the ginger juice. I wanted to get out of there ASAP, so instead I grabbed Synergy Trilogy Kombucha. I’ve heard from a couple people this flavor was the best and it did not disappoint. I loved it. Maybe I should be drinking one every day?

Anyways, I got home. And after much more convincing of myself and half a bottle of kombucha, I was off. At a turtles’ pace. The only changes I made to the recipe is that I used almond milk instead of rice milk.

 

Oh brother. This bowl is too small

This seems to be where things started to go awry. The recipe suggests adding 1 cup of chocolate chips.  In hindsight, I think this was way too many. I would say a little less than 3/4c would be ideal.

It also says that you will have left-over batter? That also seemed quite odd to me. So I filled up a normal loaf pan and a mini. Thankfully, I am so glad this happened…

She looks beautiful, doesn’t she. Perfectly golden brown. Slightly sunken in, which can be fixed with a little tweak of baking soda/powder. Minor detail. But doesn’t she look wonderful? Slightly crispy outside. Probably soft and sweet on the inside?

Wrong.

Oh. Brother.

With a flop on the board and a subsequent pile of mush, I thought I might cry. Pure devastation. To add insult to injury Kyle was lustfully looking over my shoulder (at the bread, not me) as all this happened.

What a wonderful husband. Despite the crash, he was still thinking, “Banana bread! Oh baby!”

What the heck happened!?

Well first off, the directions say bake @ 325 for 35 minutes. I SHOULD have realized that this was ridiculous.

In my sick haze, I didn’t. Instead, I followed the recipe to a T.

In my sick haze, I should have done the toothpick test, but I didn’t. I assumed Erin’s instructions were iron-clad. No need for further investigation.

Big mistake! It seems that Erin and I are just not speaking the same language. We clearly need to spend some more time together.

 

There was still some hope though…

The little engine that could.

The mini.

Redemption!

In hindsight, the normal loaf didn’t need any sort of baking powder/soda ratio tweaking. The poor thing just needed to be baked at least twice as long as it was!

But oh baby! This had to be THE BEST gluten free baked good I’ve EVER tasted. Even the mush was slightly addictive!

Thank goodness for the mini.

Only problem is, the “shelf-life” will be virtually non-existant with Kyle lusting over my shoulder 🙂

Oh brother.

Kaleigh

 

 

2 Responses to “oh brother!/oh baby!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. inspiration « 2 People, 2 Dogs, 1 Apartment - January 28, 2011

    […] Mentally and physically. (This may not be the case later on as I have eaten a very large amount of banana bread mush. Turns out mush is just as good as fully-baked […]

  2. something got me! « 2 People, 2 Dogs, 1 Apartment - April 7, 2011

    […] The taste is always great, but the texture is always off. You can read about my last incident here. These muffins taste great but they are super crumbly. As soon as you take a bite, they crumble […]

Leave a Reply

