inspiration

28 Jan

Today felt different. Like the turning of a corner.

Maybe the difference was that I started my day with a Kath-inspired smoothie.

In my smoothie I had:

  • 1 banana
  • 1 c frozen berries
  • 1 scoop of Garden of Life Raw Meal
  • a sprinkle pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 c almond milk
  • topped with Pumpkorn (soo delicious)

 

I’ve seen Kath’s “smoothie in a bowl” and I never thought I would like crunchy, chewy things in my smoothie. I assumed WRONG!! I love it!

The “different” feeling could also have been that it was 67 degrees in the middle of January. In Colorado. Quite strange, but it felt “needed”.

I got to run outside. It was the perfect day for this! I haven’t done this in ages. This was special for two reasons.

1. I felt really good today. Mentally and physically. (This may not be the case later on as I have eaten a very large amount of banana bread mush. Turns out mush is just as good as fully-baked bread.)

2. I felt a soul-warming effect that the sun can only do in it’s own special way.

Truly though, this weather is going to be getting my enternal clock all messed up. Tomorrow is the start of spring, right?

Regardless, it’s awakening in me some really wonderful things.

The past couple weeks, as soon as I’ve roused from sleep, my mind immediately starts going over my to-do list. Compiling in mind what things I absolutely need to get done today. Instead, this morning I felt calm. I felt no rush. I got up and eased into the day. Every once in a while I felt the anxious feeling creeping in, but then I immediately dismissed it. I thoroughly enjoyed the day and for once, time felt like it slowed down.

Today inspired me to want to brake free from my winter cocoon and go plant some vegetables in a garden. I want to go fishing with Kyle. I’d like to go lay on a perfectly warm San Diego sunny beach.

I’m feeling inspired to try a bunch of new foods and concoct fun, new recipes. My cravings for food are changing too. I want greens again. Fresh flavors! Give me a big salad!!

And that is exactly what I did when I was done with my modest, yet wonderful 3.74 mile run (I mapped my run online ;)). I used the delightful inspiration from my run to make a sunny salad, complete with homemade dressing.

I felt like combining hot and cold in this salad so in the mix was:

  • green leaf lettuce
  • warm quinoa
  • lightly steamed broccoli and carrots
  • black beans
  • chopped raw onion
  • ginger salad dressing
  • salt and pepper

The dressing has been in the works for a while. I drew inspiration from the store-bought Annie’s Naturals Gingerly Vinaigrette.

Ginger Salad Dressing makes 1/2 c

Ingredients

  • 2 T apple cider vinegar
  • 1 T soy sauce
  • 2 tsp agave nectar
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 2 tsp dijon mustard
  • pinch of xanthan gum or cornstarch (optional, for a little thickness)
  • fresh ground pepper, to taste

Method:

Place all ingredients in s small bowl and whisk to combine. Adjust seasonings as needed.

The rest of the day has been spent working on a new recipe, eating banana mush and taking the dogs on a jaunt. I sensed that they were also inspired by the beautiful weather and wanted to get out in the fresh air as well.

This day has been truly apprecitated.

Now if only I could find inspiration to deal with all the dirty dishes…

Kaleigh

One Response to “inspiration”

  1. Sarah January 29, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    Our weather here in the great white north has been in the 50’s the last few days, and sunny! I totally know what you mean about it inspiring you! I walked the dog. I ran. I walked to the grocery store, where they were even selling asparagus and berries and potted flowers and spring timey things. I walked to the gym. Oooh, it was glorious. But today I woke up to a blanket of white covering the ground and 20 degrees. Tomorrow’s high is…..2. I want to cry. I hope your sunny fake spring lasts longer than mine!

Leave a Reply

