what happened?

2 Feb

Have you ever had one of those moments where something happens and it is so impossibly hard to fathom that you don’t even know how to react? You don’t know whether to laugh, cry, scream or punch something? I’ve definitely had a few of these moments in my life. They are usually completely life-changing moments, something that I will never forget.

Last night we had one of these moments. Maybe not life-changing but certainly something that will not be forgot. After Kyle picked me up from work on his way home, we ran in the apartment as quick as possible to get out of the cold and to greet our dogs.

Please keep in mind that the last time I was home was only a mere 2.5 hours earlier, on my lunch break. During this last visit I had caught Sam on the couch (which is a big no-no at our house) and quickly scolded him.

As we unlocked the door, the evidence was clear that he had been on the couch again. A couple wet marks where he had been licking or chewing on his feet (so weird that he does this, right?). Busted. As I was scolding the boy for the second time this evening, I looked up at Kyle peering over the baby gates where Molly has been while we were at work.

WHAT happened?” is what I heard. I thought maybe she decided to chew on a toilet paper tube or something innocent. Much more innocent. As I walked up to the bathroom next to Kyle, I was a little confused at first. The bright bathroom lights made things a little hazy as there were things strewn about everywhere.

As my eyes focused, and the connections were made all we could do was stare…..

Apparently Molly has hopped on the remodeling bandwagon because she clearly wanted to see what kind of flooring was under the linoleum.

Unfortunately it’s not beautiful cherry hardwood that just needs a little love.

(I could only stomach taking two pictures)

We were shell-shocked. We could barely speak. I mean, WHAT HAPPENED? She went crazy with a capital C within a matter of only 2.5 hours!  Because believe me, before I went back to finish my shift, we still had a floor in our bathroom and I had no idea it was linoleum. We just stared. Stared into the abyss that is now our bathroom floor. Completely befuddled.

I thought that she was done with all this. I thought she was over the crazy puppy stuff.

 

Nope.

 

I told you she is a loose cannon. A psycho of Norman Bates proportion.

Guess where Molly gets to be now?

Welcome to your own personal penalty box devil-child.

Shockingly, she likes it. I only hope that she won’t become a “locked-up” psycho in there. I just don’t know if I can handle another bombshell. I know our pet deposit certainly can’t.

Despite this unfortunate occurence, I have been managing to throw together some pretty delicious things. Good thing too, because I’m pretty sure that both Kyle and I are emotional eaters. This can be evidenced in that the very few things that was muttered after the un-welcomed destruction discovery was Kyle saying, “If there was ever a night to have ice cream, this would be it.”

Indeed it is my dear. And we ate.

And this morning I wanted something special, too. I felt like something different. Something I’ve never had before. Gluten free pancakes? I think, yes.

Cinnamon Banana Pancakes

I essentially followed this recipe. I halved it, changed up the flour, added spice and bananas. It made 5 HUGE pancakes.

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 c Bobs’ Red Mill All-Purpose Gluten Free Baking Mix
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon, optional
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 c almond milk
  • 1/2 T apple cider vinegar
  • 1 1/2 T coconut oil
  • Diced banana, optional

Method:

Combine almond milk and apple cider vinegar in a small bowl. Let sit for about 5 minutes. Whisk together dry ingredients in a medium bowl. Add milk mixture to dry ingredients and whisk until smooth.

Heat a large skillet over medium high heat and spray with cooking spray. Pour in pancake batter to what size you prefer. Place bananas on pancakes. Cook until all ends look dry and flip. Enjoy with whatever toppings you like!

I went with agave, Pumpkorn, coconut shreds, and a chunk o’ butter.

These certainly distracted me from the odd floor-job Molly has performed.

Does anyone have any suggestions or helpful hints on fixing her mess? Any low-cost tips would be great. It would be nice if we didn’t owe several hundred dollars plus our deposit upon moving out.

I better get going. I need to bone-up on DIY demo…

Kaleigh

 


5 Responses to “what happened?”

  1. spoonfulofsugarfree February 2, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

    OHMYGOODNESS! That is crazy….good luck fixing it….

    On the upside, your pancakes look fabulous! I love the adjustments you made to the recipe 🙂

    • Kaleigh February 14, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

      Hey, thanks! The recipe gave me a great place to start 🙂

  2. Holly February 6, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    Oh. Em. Gee. I would flip my shite if that happened. I would have needed a lot more than pancakes. I wish I was a flooring genius to help you out, but alas I am not. Hey, at least its a good excuse for a remodel? MUCH LOVE XOXO!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. something is a little fishy… « 2 People, 2 Dogs, 1 Apartment - February 11, 2011

    […] Molly’s recent DIY apartment remodeling and the prices of bananas going up, there has been more fishy happenings going on around […]

  2. a few completely random, and possibly useless observations « 2 People, 2 Dogs, 1 Apartment - May 2, 2011

    […] has perplexed me in the past few days (only because I have finally resolved to clean our shredded and under-appreciated bathroom) just how dirty our apartments’ walls can get. I mean, how […]

Leave a Reply

