something is a little fishy…

11 Feb

Besides Molly’s recent DIY apartment remodeling and the prices of bananas going up, there has been more fishy happenings going on around here.

The best of these happenings has got to be the Salmon Salad I made the other day.

Here’s my twist on the classic tuna salad:

Salmon Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. salmon
  • 1 T red wine vinegar
  • 2 T pickle relish
  • 1/2 tsp Old Bay Seasoning*
  • 3/4 c mayonnaise
  • Zest and juice of 1 large lemon
  • 2 celery stalks, finely chopped
  • 1/2 c chopped red onion (about 1/4 of a large onion)
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste

Method:

You’re going to learn how to poach fish! Don’t worry, it’s super easy šŸ™‚

Pour 3 cups of water into a deep skillet and place the salmon in the skillet. Add more water to completely cover the fish if necessary. Place a lid on the skillet and cook over medium-low heat for 10 minutes. You should cook the salmon 10 minutes for every inch of thickness it is. After the fish is cooked, remove it from the skillet and refrigerate until cool.

Meanwhile, make the sauce!

In a large bowl combine red wine vinegar, relish, Old Bay seasoning,mayonnaise, and the zest and juice of the lemon. Whisk together until combined.

When salmon is cool, shred the meat into bite-sized pieces with a fork. Add shredded salmon to the bowl with the sauce. Add remaining ingredients and stir to combine.

*If you don’t have Old Bay Seasoning, which is a seafood seasoning, use instead a pinch of cayenne, a pinch of garlic salt, and a pinch of paprika. Or anything else you’d like!

**Refrigerate leftovers. And then add them to noodles to make a faux ‘tuna noodle casserole’!

In other fishy news, our cable/internet bill has gone up $40 since last month for no real apparent reason! What?! This is not going to work for us so we are getting rid of cable (Gasp!). Unheard of, I know, and we are considering changing providers for our internet services. So needless to say, posts may be few and far in between while we figure all this out.

And the most unhappy of ‘fishy things’ is that I am still not feeling well. I thought things were getting much better, but it all came to a crashing halt a couple days ago. Either I’m totally missing something with taking gluten/dairy out, the problem is not gluten and dairy, or it’s taking much longer for my body to get rid of the gluten than I thought. Did you know it could take up to 8 weeks for someone to flush out gluten? It’s crazy, but true enough. So I’m going to the doctor. I REALLY hate going to the doctor. I’ve gone several times for my ‘issues’ and they never really ‘listen’ to me. They hand me a pill and say, “Try this and we’ll check back in to see how it goes.”

It never works and I never go back in for the check-in. I really pray that this doesn’t happen again. I am frustrated beyond belief and if I just get a pill handed to me, I may explode.

I’ve been working really hard on my diet right now so I can only hope that this visit will be a productive visit.

What about you? Is there something fishy happening in your life?

Kaleigh


One Response to “something is a little fishy…”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. the go-to’s « 2 People, 2 Dogs, 1 Apartment - February 24, 2011

    […] creations like salmon salad or trying new recipes I’ve […]

Leave a Reply

