the go-to’s

24 Feb

I wish that we had oodles of money.

I would love more money so that we could travel to awesome places we’ve never been (Italy, Hawaii, Greece, anywhere).

I would love to be able to make awesome donations and buy random people anonymous tuition to college or groceries (super philanthropists).

I would love it so that we could move in to a bigger place so the doggies could have more a yard to play in (a 10’x10′ patch would be an improvement).

But one of the biggest reasons I would love to have a little extra income would be so I could buy more food (INGREDIENTS!!).

I want to be a mad scientist in the kitchen, brewing up amazing concoctions and trying crazy new recipes. I want to have an endless supply of ingredients to do with whatever I wish.

Most of my time is spent dreaming about food. I could spend all day in a natural food store or a well-stocked grocery just looking around. Reading labels, discovering new food items, imagining what could be done with it all.

Unfortunately the Mr. and I don’t have extremely high paying jobs. We get by alright, but there’s definitely no way that every time I go to the grocery that I can pick up some truffles and jars upon jars of coconut butter. Instead, we have to get a little creative with our meals.

So what do we eat?

Well to start off, we usually are not home together for lunch or dinner. Most days we have opposite schedules so we fend for ourselves.

When I’m home alone I tend to make it really simple. My go-to meals include:

  • “Fried Rice”- I use up leftover rice by sauteing a bunch of veggies, adding the rice, soy sauce, asian flavored seasonings, and scrambling an egg all in one skillet. At the end I drizzle with sesame oil.
  • Pasta and veggie mix
  • Scrambled eggs with veggies
  • Baked potatoes topped with beans,  sauerkraut, or eggs
  • Hummus in tortillas or with crackers and veggies
  • Mix n’ match- basically I grab any random things that are hanging around and try to get a protein, veggie and some sort of carbohydrate

Kyle’s go-to meals are:

  • Peanut butter and jelly sandwiches
  • Pasta with red sauce or pesto
  • Turkey sandwiches
  • Tuna melts
  • Hummus wraps
  • He also usually eats up all the leftovers too, if there are any

On rare occasions when we get to be together, I try to make our meals a little more special. Things like:

  • Fish with some sort of vegetable side dish
  • Casseroles with vegetables like my cheesy broccoli and rice
  • Homemade burgers
  • Soups like chili and butternut squash along with sandwiches
  • New creations like salmon salad or trying new recipes I’ve found

I try to base our meals off of relatively cheap protein sources. Beans, lentils, canned tuna, etc are all really low priced for the amount of nutrition that they provide. But one or two times a week I will try to make more hearty and special things like with fish or something with chicken breasts.

So, what are your favorite go-to meals? Do you make a lot of quick meals or do you take time in the kitchen?

Ours are not super-impressive, but they are certainly easy, healthy and almost always delicious.

Kaleigh

One Response to “the go-to’s”

  1. Sarah February 25, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    About a year ago, I challenged myself to cut my grocery budget by 25%. Prior to that, I just kind of bought stuff, but once I had a dollar amount as a goal, it was easier to stick to a budget, and I am now able to do it easily, and most of the time I am well under my goal.

    I just watched Ellie Krieger on tv, and she did a show on money-saving meals. I love her. Here is a link to those recipes:
    http://www.foodnetwork.com/healthy-appetite-with-ellie-krieger/meals-deals/index.html

    I have made the salmon cakes, and they are awesome! Canned salmon is actually really affordable, and you can use it for a multitude of things: salmon burgers, crumbled on salads, I have even mixed it with hummus and veggies to make a salmon salad for sandwiches.

    I’ve also tried to make a few ore meatless meals to save money, even though Mike would definitely prefer a hunk of meat, if I limit the meatless stuff, he is a little more tolerant. 🙂

Leave a Reply

