about elephants…

21 Mar

I finished this book about a week ago and I’m still not 100% sure how I feel about it. The author Ralph Helfer has a unique writing style. In the forward he states that the story is only what had been told to him. The story was piece-y and it seemed more logical than real. The two main characters go through several trials and after a while I thought to myself, “Man, when will it ever end for these two?” This in turn made me feel like this story was not true at all and instead it was more of a fairy tale.

But isn’t that how life is? One trial after another. And isn’t that how your remember things? Generally you remember the big things in detail and everything in between seems fairly inconsequential.

But really, what do I know? I’ve never owned a elephant and I don’t know anyone who has, so maybe life is just plain magical when every day of your life you travel around with an elephant.

The book was good though. It was sweet and it was a quick read. I definitely recommend the book to anyone who has animals or if you just plain love animals. The relationship between the elephant Modoc and his trainer is really awesome and it made me think of myself and our pups. They have a lot of love for each other and always know what the other is thinking. Now, I don’t always know what the dogs are thinking and vice versa, but I certainly feel a connection with them. Therefore I can relate to and appreciate this trainer/elephant story.

I’m still not sure why I have such contradictory opinions on this one. It was sweet but it seemed too fantastic to be true. I’m not sure why I am so skeptical of its validity but putting all that aside it is a great story of love, friendship and overcoming trials. And that I can get behind.

And now I wish I had an elephant…

Kaleigh

 

Leave a Reply

