the time has come…

30 Mar

I’ve been wanting to do this for a long time now. I’ve had to wait longer than I wanted because my blood tests for celiac were negative which meant that I had to keep eating gluten. But I’ve had my endoscopy done and waiting for the results. So now I’ve got the green light…

A detox. You can read all about how I detox here. I suggest doing a detox at least two times a year but not going over four (one for each season). Here are the reasons that I am doing mine now:

  • I’ve felt bloated, puffy, gassy and grumpy upwards 90% of the time
  • With the addition of gluten back into my diet, I’ve also allowed a lot of poor quality foods as well
  • I’m having serious sweets/salty cravings
  • I am not sleeping well
  • I know my body needs it

I usually try to clean up my diet, expel toxins by way of a special protein drink and exercise as much as possible, but for this detox I am trying to add a few more things:

  • I’ve started dry brushing and I want to continue that
  • I’m drinking lemon water first thing every morning (to further detoxing and moving ‘things’ along)
  • I’m adding extra probiotics and digestive enzymes into my daily routine
  • I’m going to try to take a shot of aloe everyday (there have been many studies done on the awesome healing powers of aloe, especially with those who have digestive issues, ahem, ME!)
  • I’m going to go vegetarian the last week of my 3-week detox
  • I’m going to visually log everything I eat for the next 3 weeks- I’m going to try my hardest to log it here on the blog everyday. I’ve never done daily blogging so bare with me as I figure it out 😉 But I figure that this will hold me accountable (no cheating) and it will give a me a good record to find out if foods that are not allowed have been sneaking into my diet or if something bothers my tummy… I can easily track that thing down!

I’m excited. This is long overdue. I woke up at 5:00 this morning and could hardly go back to sleep because I am so excited!

I’m off to run errands and stock up the kitchen 🙂

Kaleigh

2 Responses to “the time has come…”

  1. Holly March 30, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    oohhh girl good luck! sometimes a good ol’ fashioned detox to get back to basics is good for the system. enjoy all those fruits and veggies!!!

  2. Sarah March 30, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    Spring = asparagus. num!

Leave a Reply

