detox: day one

31 Mar

And here WE GO…!

Like I mentioned in my last post, I was excited to get up and get my day started. But I made myself go back to sleep for a few more hours before I got up.

I started my day off with one of my favorite smoothie combos:

  • almond milk
  • big banana
  • homemade Sunbutter (“peanut” butter made from sunflower seeds)
  • cinnamon
  • Clearvite protein powder

This held me over for a long time. I got out to run some errands and my morning snack was eaten while driving from place to place…

After trying to refrain from buying a 25 lb. bag of pinto beans and 20 clamshells of blueberries at Costco, I returned home a very hungry gal. Lunch was a big ol’ salad.

  • spinach and romaine
  • gala apple
  • avocado
  • walnuts
  • hardboiled egg
  • red onion
  • dressing: pinch stevia, apple cider vinegar, cinnamon, olive oil

During the afternoon I started having a sweets cravings, which is normal during a detox. Especially on day one, and especially because in the past few weeks I’ve been having sweets just about every day. To deal, I spooned the remaining smidges out of the almond butter jar. That did the trick.

 

My lunch was late and we had to head to youth group, so instead of eating a big meal beforehand, I grabbed a few things to munch on the way to church… hummus, rice cakes and a carrot 🙂 A “1st dinner” if you will.

We had a lovely time at youth group as Kyle and I did a skit that we were proteges of John Jacobson. You can view his work here. Pure awesomeness.

Afterwards we went with a few other leaders to pay a little visit to Dave Thomas. And boy o boy did some french fries and a frosty sound absolutely perfect!! But I resisted…

I went with veggie soup (it’s new at Wendy’s) and a baked potato. Unfortunately the soup had corn in it, so I had to eat around. Either way this second dinner did the trick and my tummy was pretty happy.

I kept thinking that my food choices through out the day were not going to tide me over but it was perfect! Another good reminder that I don’t have to be eating and munching all day long to survive!

I did have one slip-up though. Without even thinking about it, I had this little guy after I ate the hummus.

Because nobody wants to talk to somebody with hummus-breath, right? Well stupid me, because I am 98% positive that it has corn syrup in it. Another lesson learned today: I need to be more mindful of the things that are here at the house before I pop them into my mouth!

Time to go read some labels!

Kaleigh

Leave a Reply

