Allez, Allez, Allez!!

1 Apr

This weekend the racing season gets going full-bore.  I am going to be racing the Louisville Criterium on Saturday and the Groove Subaru Spring Classic Criterium on Sunday.  Then next weekend I will be racing the daunting Mead-Roubaix road race.  These next two weekends should be a great test of how the rest of the season is going to go and what I am going to accomplish this year.  I feel like my form going into these races is better than in years past, and if how many races I have already won in my head is an indicator of how this season is going to go, it’s going to be a good one…I am on a new team this year, Sonic Boom Racing p/b Lucky Pie Pizza and this team is heads and shoulders above any other team I have been a part of, they have set me up to succeed and our team looks to be very strong.

Before every race I get nervous.  There are so many thoughts that go though your head from self-doubt to thoughts of riding away from the field to win solo.  And honestly ever race is different, there are so many different variables that come into play that are out of your control it is best to just sit back, relax and roll with the punches.  I am going to try to take that attitude into my racing this year.  I am still going to go as hard as I can and give every race everything I have, but I’m going to try to not worry too much about what could happen before the race even starts, and instead just RACE.  We’ll see how it goes.

This year the American Cycling Association (the ACA) has decided to implement a timing chip system for all ACA sanctioned races.  There has been a lot of negative response to this push from the ACA, but honestly I like the idea.  If all goes according to plan there should be greater accuracy in recording close finishes and disputes about results should be almost non-existent.  Plus having a sweet timing chip attached to your bike, makes you look a little more professional and a little less amateur, at least in my opinion.  The ACA requires that you place the chip on your head tube, and I placed my chip on my bike the other day, and while it does look a little strange I am hoping that it will make things easier for everyone this year.

 

Ready for Action

 

 

On a side note my legs are getting tan.  Cyclists have a lot of weird quirks and tan legs is one of them.  This is the thinking of most cyclists I know:

Tan legs = Great tan lines = A better rider

Now there really is no benefit other than psychological to having distinct tan lines, but mine are coming along great so hopefully this weekend my racing will reflect that.

 

Good Start...

 

 

Anyway look for some race reports about this weekend in the next few days on the Racing! page of the blog and feel free to send me a good luck prayer or positive thoughts, they always help!

Leave a Reply

