a very tempting day 4

3 Apr

It would be an understatement to say how amazing yesterday was in Colorado. It weather was just about perfect! The day also provided me some serious temptations. The day started off in a bit of a rush. I was running late and trying to get to Kyle’s race. That means breakfast to go…

Berry-tastic smoothie!

  • half a banana
  • almond milk
  • Barlean’s strawberry banana flax oil
  • frozen berry mix: cherries, blueberries, pomegranate, and strawberries
  • spinach

I drank this baby up like nothin’ and it was ridiculously huge!!

Kyle did awesome at his race and it was an beautiful day for one!

We headed back home for Kyle to clean up and while he was doing that, I had a quick snack time; a couple more cocoa date-nut balls.

I’m addicted. They are so amazing!

My first VERY tempting experience of the day was because we had lunch at one of our favorite breakfast places, Snooze. My absolutely favorite thing I’ve tried thus far is their Elvis pancakes. They have bacon, bananas and peanut butter cream… drool! Unfortunately all of the above, minus the banana are a big no-no right now. I chose to have an omelete with tomato, spinach and avocado and Udi’s gluten free toast on the side. FYI this is the best gluten free bread I have had to date! I passed my hash browns over to the husband (sad day) because I figured they had something in them that I am trying to stay away from. My omelet was still delicious, but it ain’t no pancakes!!!

Afternoon snacks included a couple more date-nut balls (no suprise there), handful of blueberries…

and chocolate milk…

I call this chocolate milk for adults. I mix about a cup of almond milk with this chocolatey greens powder. I am in love with this Amazing Grass product! It has tons of fruits and veggies and it really does taste great. Often greens-based drinks taste really, well… like grass. Not the case with this one.

After all my snacking that afternoon, I wasn’t very hungry but I knew I needed to eat something before I went in to work for a late, late shift. I whipped together a little tuna noodle casserole.

I didn’t do much but mix:

  • Tinkyada rice pasta
  • diced celery
  • diced red onion
  • tuna
  • salt and pepper
  • drizzle with what else?… tahini!!

I didn’t eat much of this and saved the rest for another time. I had to get in to work and my second temptation happened there. Everyone was getting Smashburger, another favorite. (Their french fries are to die for!!) But I was prepared and ate the mini-meal I brought. I drank a kombucha, which I was slightly disappointed in.

Usually there is a lot of effervescence in these bottles, but this one had close to none. I also had some cucumber slices sprinkled with salt and pepper and a rice cake with jelly and sunbutter on top.

My sunbutter/jelly combo looks more like pizza sauce! This little snack got me through the serious temptation of munching on some fries as my co-workers sat next to me eating their delicious hamburgers.

This day was a really wonderful day. It was relaxing, we got to hang out with friends and family for a while and my late night shift went pretty easily. I was proud of myself not succumbing to the temptations so hopefully this will keep rolling through the rest of my detox.

Happy evening to you,

Kaleigh

One Response to “a very tempting day 4”

  1. Sarah April 4, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    Keep it up Kiks! By the way, I literally drool when I see a picture of your cocoa nutty date balls….do share the recipe!

Leave a Reply

