double duty days

4 Apr

Forgive me as this post may be long… I’m going to do two days worth of eatin. And forgive me if it rambles or just doesn’t quite make sense… my brain is really feeling like mush. Luckily, I thought I had lost a very important card… but I just found it… so that makes me feel a lot better.

Sunday! Sunday! Sunday!!!

I woke up with my stomach feeling unsettled. Fortunately it was very short term and I got to work making myself another smoothie for breakfast.

This had in it:

  • fresh strawberries
  • flax meal
  • 1/2 banana
  • Barlean’s Total Omega 3-6-9 Orange swirl
  • almond milk
  • vanilla Clearvite (I think I have forgot to mention this is my past couple smoothies, but I am doing this powder everyday)

I drank this on our way to church. I have been trying to get in as much sleep as I can. Ideally you want to give your body as much time possible to rest while on the detox. And truthfully, it’s best if you always do this, but especially on a detox. I’ve done this the past couple days and that means less time to get ready. Therefore… breakfast on the go.

Anyways after church we did a little volunteering for our youth group and right as we got there I had a couple dates with almonds and walnuts.

Kyle and I were both super hungry after we were done volunteering so we shot home as quick as possible to get some food in our bellies. I finished up leftovers of my tuna noodle casserole and added a little bit of mayo to the mix. I plopped it on top of radish sprouts and baby spinach and added some blackberries on the side for good measure.

It was an odd day yesterday because the day before it was about 80 degrees. Then all a sudden it was snowing out and I needed several layers to stay warm! Oh spring in Colorado. Needless to say, it was a perfect day for hanging around on the couch with Kyle and watching the making of Seinfeld. Yes, were obsessed and that is an understatement. While we were doing this, I also had a green tea and another date-nut ball.

We had plans to go hang out with my dad for the evening, so after a little relaxing on our couch we headed over there with the dogs. My dad has two dogs and the cheapest and laziest way to wear out our dogs is to let them play together. It’s awesome! We decided to order Chinese food because I figured that that was going to be the best choice to fit in with my detox. I got a grilled chicken noodle bowl. 

This was pretty good. It had rice noodles, cucumber, lettuce, carrots, grilled chicken (that I have a feeling was marinated in soy sauce… dang it!), peanuts (which I tried not to eat)and a clear sauce to pour over it. I have a feeling some “not allowed” foods snuck in on this one, but I did the best I could.

When we got back home, I was craving a little something sweet so I had…. can you guess??

Those were the last ones though. So I’m going to have to make some more or find something else a little sweet but not too naughty for me to munch on when I get sweets cravings.

This morning I woke up with some side cramping. I’m not sure if it was from dinner or not…

My breakfast was a little different as I’ve never tried this combo before, plus we were out of bananas. For some reason I always feel like a smoothie needs a banana. Not sure why…? My smoothie was just “ok”. It had:

  • fresh strawberries (I totally grabbed a bad batch! This were not flavorful at all!!)
  • almond milk
  • cocoa powder
  • Barlean’s Total Omega 3-6-9 Orange swirl
  • vanilla Clearvite
  • couple ice cubes

Snack time was going to be great, but my apple tasted a little like grass. It was a little distracting. What is with all this produce? It’s freaking me out!

I combined some sunbutter, a little bit of agave and cinnamon to make a delicious dip! Unfortunately that apple was a freak, so most of it went to the dogs. The dip was wonderful though, and a nice treat.

After taking care of some emails and having a very important budget meeting (I’m trying to sound very professional here) with my partner, I set to work making a few delicious things for me to eat! Both will be featured in dinner, so hold tight. While I was making the food I sucked on this little guy.

The package seems wasteful to me, but its the only applesauce we have in the house and I needed a tbsp of it for one of the things I made. It would definitely be good for a kid’s lunchbox though! I kind of got lost in cooking so I had to make lunch quick. It was merely leftovers from last night’s dinner.

At work, I was getting a lot of extra training so I had a small late snack of some very pretty blackberries.

Shortly thereafter, I raced home for a delightful dinner. Earlier in the day I made a recipe from Vegetarian Times magazine, a chickpea tangine. It has sauteed onions, garlic, carrots, currants and a bunch of spices! It was awesome but I only wish that I had some brown rice to join the Moroccan-inspired dish.

On the side I had socca. I learned about this from Ashley. This is her recipe:

  • 1 1/4c chickpea flour
  • 1c unsweetened almond milk
  • 1T unsweetened applesauce
  • 1T safflower oil
  • 1t cinnamon
  • 1t curry
  • 1/2t garlic
  • 1/4t ginger
  • few shakes of garam masala
  1. Preheat oven to 375*
  2. Grease a 8-9” round cake pan, or pie dish.
  3. Mix all ingredients together, until just combined.
  4. Pour the batter into the pan and bake for about 40min.  It will be very cracked with browned edges.

The only tweaks I make is that I leave out the curry and garlic and I use coconut oil instead of safflower oil. I love this stuff! I’ve told Kyle that it’s kind of like cornbread, just thinner and made with garbanzo beans instead of corn. I’m sure you’ll be seeing these both through out the next few days.

I am going to be perfectly honest with you. Yesterday and this evening I’ve had some serious moodiness. It’s quite possible that this is purely from the toxins that are being released into my body to be removed. It could also be that there was something unknown in the Chinese dish that isn’t sitting well with me. All I know is that I have been quickly agitated and somewhat sensitive for really no reason at all. Hopefully this will diminish tomorrow.

When I got back home from work, I needed a little snacky. Sunbutter and jelly have really been makin’ me happy lately, so I went with that! On half a rice cake, of course!

Alright!!! I’m all caught up on my days so from here on out I can be posting foods from the same day 🙂 I’m going to go relax and get some sleep!

Kaleigh

5 Responses to “double duty days”

  1. Elizabeth H, blogger for SunButter April 5, 2011 at 6:48 am #

    Hi Kaleigh,
    Another smile-inducing post from your keyboard! Of course since I blog for SunButter, I just must comment on this one: love the dip recipe. Would you share the amounts of other ingreds? It’ll be fun to change it up around our 2 dog (+3 kid) house : ) Thanks for your continued inspiration and fresh perspective.

    • Kaleigh April 6, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

      Thank you and no problem! I believe I used a heaping tablespoon of sunbutter, 1 tsp of agave nectar, and a couple shakes of cinnamon. Enjoy!

  2. Heather @ Get Healthy With Heather April 5, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    Loooove sun butter! The perfect snack 🙂

    • Kaleigh April 6, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

      Absolutely! I think I like it better than peanut butter!

  3. Elizabeth H, blogger for SunButter April 7, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    Kaleigh,
    Wow, thanks, that IS a fabulous dip. It’s got apples as the top treat around here lately. Take care!

Leave a Reply

