detoxing on day 7

5 Apr

I am pooped! These past couple days have felt like I am go, go, go! Luckily I have tomorrow off. But in all actuality, the way that my to-do list is shaping up, I may end up running around all day.

This morning I was really wanting something a little decadent. I was thinking about making gluten free pancakes but I was too hungry to wait. I made another smoothie…

Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

  • 1/2 small banana
  • 1 c pumpkin puree
  • tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch of cloves and fresh ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • tsp cinnamon
  • vanilla Clearvite
  • sprinkle pumpkin pie spice on top

I got to work on making some brown rice and coconut butter. If you were to go buy a jar of coconut butter at the store, it would put you back about $10 (or more). It’s so much cheaper to make your own! You put dried, shredded unsweetened coconut in a food processor…

Let it whirl for a while… scraping the sides down every once in a while and then it turns into this…

My favorite way to eat this is on top socca! I love it so much in fact that I had it twice today. Once for a morning snack and also for an after-work snack.

YuuuumMM! You can also put it on fruit, cereal, oatmeal, muffins… I’m thinking mostly in baked good terms right now because I’m planning on making a treat tomorrow :). The butter will harden after a while so if you want it creamy again you just have to warm it a little.

Lunch was leftovers from yesterday. In my last post, I mentioned that I thought the chickpea dish would be a little better with brown rice… and I was right!

I also had 1/4 of a very large juicy pear. I ate the other 1/4 of it at work, as well as some nuts for my afternoon snack. 

I feel like I have been so busy at work that I have hardly been able to get anything done. I run, run, run and at then end of the shift I don’t feel satisfied with what I’ve accomplished. Then, I have to rush home and pull together a dinner! Tonight was a salad-lentil combo. 

This pretty plate had on it:

  • spinach
  • radish sprouts
  • carrots
  • cucumber
  • lentils mixed with red wine vinegar, olive oil, and rosemary
  • tahini drizzle

This one felt a little lacking. It needed a few more things in it to make it as good as this combo was last time. Plus I felt rushed and like I didn’t get to enjoy it. I’m thinking about starting to take my lunch to work every once in a while so I don’t feel like I have to be running all the time and can actually take a break!

When I got home this evening, like I said earlier in the post, I had another piece of socca and coconut butter. Well I’m going to cut this a little short so I can go decide what fun things I am going to make tomorrow. Good night!!

Kaleigh

Leave a Reply

