day 8 and a treat

6 Apr

Today was stop and go. I got up with a lot of things on my to-do list and I got most of them knocked off. This morning I made my favorite smoothie. I’ve renamed it too. I used to call it ‘funky monkey’ but now it’s Dreamy Creamy. I’ve named it this because that is exactly what the texture is.

  • banana
  • heaping tablespoon homemade sunbutter
  • a couple shakes cinnamon
  • Barlean’s Total Omega 3-6-9 Orange Swirl
  • 1 c almond milk
  • a couple ice cubes
  • vanilla Clearvite

Yuuummm! My favorite!!

After breakfast, I got ready to go run some errands. Top of the list was to pick up my wedding band and engagement ring! I took them in for a cleaning and maintenance and I haven’t had them for a week. I felt naked!! I decided to cut my errands list a little short to head back home and get some lunch a brewin’. While I was cooking, I had a piece of socca with coconut butter. 

It was a rainy, gloomy day so I thought soup would be a good fit. I put together a pretty decent pot.

Curried Cauliflower Soup

Ingredients:

  • T olive oil
  • head cauliflower, about 2 lbs, cut into florets
  • small onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1T curry powder
  • 1 tsp tarragon
  • 1/2 cayenne powder
  • 1 c chicken broth
  • 3 c water or more broth if you have it

How to:

Heat oil in a large soup pot. Add onions and sauté until translucent. Add garlic and cook until fragrant, about 2 minutes. Add cauliflower and spices and cook for 5 more minutes. Add broth and water, stir to combine. Bring to a slow boil and simmer until cauliflower is tender, about 12 minutes. Transfer contents of the pot to a blender, or use an immersion blender to make smooth. If the soup is too loose than what you dreamed up in your head, return to pot and simmer until it reaches the desired consistency.  Adjust seasonings as needed with salt and pepper, top with cilantro and enjoy!

I accompanied my soup with half a pear and a hard boiled egg as well. 

So it has been eight days since I’ve had any candy, treats, baked goods etc. so I decided it best that I give myself a little treat. What I have decided about myself is that I either swing really far to one side of healthy eating or I splurge way too much on the not-so-healthy side of things. I need some moderation and to me, that includes having a treat here or there. So today, I made another recipe out of my Babycakes cookbook. Blueberry muffins!!! Every ingredient falls within the parameters of my detox and there is no sugar in them, agave nectar is used instead.

I will not lie to you, I had two of these. One topped with coconut butter, and one without. I couldn’t resist. Therefore, muffins were my afternoon snack.

I had another little snack of a rice cake with smashed avocado and salsa before I headed out the door to go to youth group to rock a photograph scavenger hunt. My team got second place…cause they’re awesome!! 

When arriving home, I felt like I needed a little extra calories for the day (read: I was hungry) so I had some more leftovers of the chickpea dish with rice and another hard boiled egg. I really love eggs. They are so perfect and I just can’t get over the creaminess that a hard boiled version gives. It never disappoints. 

Well, another day down. I hope yours was a good one. Mine was. I got quite a few things done and I also was able to rest and bake. I also caught up on Biggest Loser and Parenthood, a couple of my favorite tv shows that I now watch all online. Having no cable is working out just fine for me! Don’t know if Kyle would say the same though….

Kaleigh

3 Responses to “day 8 and a treat”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. something got me! « 2 People, 2 Dogs, 1 Apartment - April 7, 2011

    […] tried not to rush as much for lunch today, so I went with an easy meal. I reheated curried cauliflower soup and did a faux pb&j on a rice […]

  2. days 17 + 18 « 2 People, 2 Dogs, 1 Apartment - April 18, 2011

    […] Dreamy Creamy… what can I say, I’m obsessed… although I may have found another contenda’! […]

  3. my favorite detox powder « 2 People, 2 Dogs, 1 Apartment - April 23, 2011

    […] been following me the past month you would have seen that it is also quite versatile taste-wise. Dreamy Creamy Choco-Cherry Ice Cream Pumpkin Pie Apple Kale(igh)Green SmoothieReally, the possibilities are […]

Leave a Reply

