something got me!

7 Apr

Another busy day today and I’ll be honest with you, I’ve just lost a lot of steam. I started my day off with a great smoothie! In it was:

  • handful baby spinach
  • 3/4 c mixed frozen berries
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 c almond milk
  • tbsp Barlean’s strawberry banana flax oil
  • pinch cardamom

As soon as I walked into work, I was running around getting stuff done. I made myself take a quick break to enjoy this little morsel…

A blueberry muffin with sunbutter atop! I’m having trouble with this whole gluten free baking thing. The taste is always great, but the texture is always off. You can read about my last incident here. These muffins taste great but they are super crumbly. As soon as you take a bite, they crumble into an avalanche of gluten-free despair. I follow the directions completely, so I don’t understand what is going on!

I tried not to rush as much for lunch today, so I went with an easy meal. I reheated curried cauliflower soup and did a faux pb&j on a rice cake. 

I very much prefer eating soup in a large coffee cup rather than a bowl. It’s so much better to heat it up in the microwave because you never burn your hand pulling it out! Plus it just feels more like comfort food to me in a coffee cup.

After getting back to work for a few hours and coming home, I had a fresh and non-grassy tasting gala apple. 

This evening I had a special dinner training for work. Eating out can get a little tricky while on a detox, and it DID get tricky. For starters we had preselected choices for us. We had a salad plus either a chicken dish (with cream), pasta dish (gluten), salmon dish with shoestring potatoes, and another salad (with no protein?). I ordered my salad without the preselected gorgonzola cheese. Another lady got my salad and was seconds to mowing down on it while simultaneously the waiter tried to give me a cheese plate…. the lady was like 20 years older than me too and we DID not look a thing alike so I’m not sure what happened… so I got a salad that I didn’t dress and she may have eaten off of. Awesome. 

Plus while waiting for our salads, I had to pass up a bursting basket of delicious handmade bread. And I know it’s good because Kyle and I have ate at this place previously. Anyways, the salad was delicious though. It was very fresh, which I think it came from the mixed greens. The vibrant earthy flavors came out them so much.

Dinner may have been the culprit. The culprit of the heartburn and indigestion currently happening. I went with the salmon. I though it would be the LEAST likely to have any “no-no’s”. 

The fish sat on top of fried tomatoes, which I avoided. The shoestring potatoes, I did eat. Not all of them, but I’m thinking that these guys were what did me in because all the way home I was burping up french fry-taste.

So here I am, somewhat confused, again about what exactly is going on. Something had to sneak into my meal that doesn’t go well with my system because I haven’t felt like this for almost two weeks…

More investigation required. I will be watching very closely.

But for now, I am going to bed. Kyle and I have an important meeting with the tax man, er, lady tomorrow morning. Nothing like waiting until the last minute, right?!

Kaleigh

Leave a Reply

