two day update

10 Apr

Man this week really has taken it out of me! I needed to take a night off from blogging because I was so completely exhausted!! I’m trying to figure this all out as I don’t know if the fatigue is from the food I’ve been eating (like eating out at the training I went to) not eating enough calories or protein, adding the muffins into my diet or if its just toxins being released.  Here are my eats for the past two days:

Saturday

This morning I felt like switching things up. I got this method from Ashley by taking cooked millet and putting it in a saucepan. I added almond milk and let them simmer together until almost all the liquid is absorbed. I also added some frozen cherries to the mix. It becomes kind of like rice pudding. 

I love how the almonds look! It’s like they are floating!

After it was done cooking I mixed in cinnamon, cardamom (I’m really favoring this spice lately!) and a smidge of agave nectar. On top I added coconut butter, raw buckwheat groats, chia seeds and almonds. This turned out really well. The only problem was that I didn’t leave a lot of time for myself to enjoy it. I had to rush to eat it and it actually burned my mouth a little. No good!

My snack at work was 1/2 a grapefruit and a few almonds and walnuts. I don’t quite understand why people always cut their grapefruits in half and scoop. It never really works. I like it so much more when you eat it all, like you would an orange. Otherwise you miss out on all the juice!!

I had to run an errand on my lunch break so in the morning before work, I pre-made my lunch. Chocolate Cherry Smoothie

  • Amazing Grass GreenSuperfood Chocolate
  • Vanilla Clearvite
  • 1/2 banana
  • Barlean’s Strawberry Banana Flax oil
  • 1/2 c frozen cherries
  • 1 c almond milk

I got my very important task done and I had a delicious lunch!

When I arrived home from work I was wanting a little something sweet. Good thing I didn’t have some cereal in the house, because otherwise I may have eaten a whole box! Instead I went with the grain (ha) and didn’t fight the crumbly muffins. I crumbled them up in a bowl, warmed them up in the microwave and topped them with coconut butter. I ate them with a spoon and I loved it!

I made sure to put a little extra work into dinner as I had a bunch of fresh ingredients on hand. I made kale chips, spaghetti squash HEAB style (minus the butter) and my own concoction, which I’ve now named Spanish Cod.

Spanish Cod

Ingredients:

  • about 2 lbs. cod
  • 2 tsp dijon mustard
  • tsp olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • handful cilantro, chopped
  • 12 raw almonds, chopped

Method:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line a cookie sheet with aluminum foil. Mix dijon, olive oil, cumin and salt and pepper in a small bowl. Place cod on the cookie sheet. Use a basting brush to brush 3/4 of the dijon mixture on to the cod. Put the cod in the oven and cook for about 12 minutes.

Meanwhile chop almonds and cilantro to a fine dice. Pull cod back out and quickly brush remaining mustard mixture on the cod. Press almond/cilantro mixture on top of the cod. Place back in the oven and cook until fish is flaking, about 5-10 minutes. Turns out great!!

After dinner, I crumbled and warmed another muffin, but ate it with almond milk instead.

Sunday

This morning I wanted to go super easy. I did another Dreamy Creamy but added cocoa. 

  • 1 banana
  • 1.5 tbsp sunbutter
  • 1 c almond milk
  • A couple shakes cinnamon
  • tbsp cocoa powder
  • tsp Barlean’s Omega Swirl Pina Colada

I’m not sure if this breakfast just didn’t work well for me, but from about 11 am on, I felt really low energy all day. My snack at work was strawberries topped with coconut shreds and almonds. 

Again at lunch I wanted to do simple. Really throughout the whole day, I just wanted easy. And easy I did. A rice cake with sunbutter and jelly and the rest of my cauliflower soup.

When I got home from work, all energy had fled from my body. But I knew it was going to be a while till we were able to get dinner. I snacked on the other half of the grapefruit from yesterday and a date filled with nut butter. 

It kinda looks like a cookie sandwich. Ha! I wish!!

Kyle arrived home with the doggies in tow. We decided to go it easy and pick up dinner at Chipotle. I got myself a nice chicken burrito bowl with lots of guacamole, cause I do love it ever so much!We were all set to pop in a movie from Netflix, but the dvd we got wouldn’t load! So we watched a Matrix trilogy movie and a little Curb Your Enthusiasm too. My after-dinner snack included some herbal tea, actually Sugar Plum Spice to be exact, and some delicious blueberries.

Now I’m off to sleep, sleep, sleep!!

Kaleigh

Leave a Reply

