2 weeks in

12 Apr

Well folks, I’ve been at this detox for two weeks now. I am still having a few issues here and there, but I would say things are 78% better. This really is a huge improvement for me. In my first post about this endeavor I stated that I would be moving to a vegetarian diet and also doing two Clearvite servings/smoothies a day. Essentially I have not been eating a lot of animal protein in the past two weeks so I’m thinking that maybe I need more. I’m going to play with this a little and see how things go. I am definitely going to add another smoothie a day so that I can try to get as many toxins moving as possible.

Alright, so let’s get caught up on yesterday and todays meals and snacks…

Monday mornings breakfast was a really delicious combination! Sweet Date Smoothie

  • 4 medjool dates, pitted
  • tsp cinnamon
  • 1 c almond milk
  • vanilla Clearvite
  • couple ice cubes

I loved this! It was so simple, not too sweet and deliciously smooth.

Lunch was especially beautiful and pretty tasty too!

This delightful looking plate included:

  • baby spinach and kale combo
  • strawberries
  • sprinkle balsamic vinegar
  • lentils mixed with celery, red wine vinegar, olive oil, salt, pepper and rosemary and tahini drizzle

I was running late in the morning so I was not able to pull together a decent snack. I grabbed some sunbutter to-go and then picked up a Larabar. I combined the two while at work. I promise there is a Larabar under there.

I have a little bone to pick. I’ve always been a fan of Larabars, but lately I have been very disappointed in them. Out of the last few I’ve had, I’ve only been happy with one. Do you eat Larabars? Have you noticed that sometimes you have a really great one, and then other times they don’t taste good or fresh at all? I also felt like this bar was shorter than normal. Are they short-changing us too? I’m sorry for my little rant, but their record with me has not been great lately.

Dinner was a kind of strange combination. It sounded good as I was getting it ready, but as I was eating it, it didn’t go as well as I had hoped. 

I had some leftover cod and then I baked a potato and topped it with sauerkraut and mustard.  The cod just didn’t taste good warned up again, and for some reason the sauerkraut  did not taste good to me either. When I combined the two on my fork, they tasted a lot better together. Go figure.

When I got home from work, I felt like having my “adult chocolate milk”. 

Amazing Grass GreenSuperfood and almond milk combo. I usually LOVE this, but shortly after I was not feeling good. It may have been my weird dinner rearing its ugly head. I actually woke up not feeling too great either.

Once I got breakfast in my stomach I was feeling much better. Today is the day I started with two Clearvite servings. First up was a delectable combination! 

Pumpkin Pie Smoothie Re-do

  • 1.5 c pumpkin puree
  • 3/4 c almond milk
  • fresh ginger, about an inch long piece, peeled
  • 1 medjool date, pitted
  • tsp cinnamon
  • fresh ground nutmeg, to taste
  • vanilla clearvite
  • sprinkle pumpkin pie spice on top!

Eventually I had to eat this with a spoon because it was so thick, it wouldn’t come out of the cup! I loved this version. I told Kyle, as I was sucking it down, that I felt like I was eating pumpkin pie filling. This was precisely what I was aiming for.

At work, I brought in a perfect snack, and also a repeat from the other day. I mixed up sunbutter with a little agave and cinnamon and brought a nice apple to dip with. 

It is very good, but business has really been picking up at work. This means crazy work-days. Again, this is good but it has been wearing me out!

I will tell you what didn’t wear me out, though!! I had “ice cream” for lunch today. I really wish that I could have added a topping like granola, but that is off-limits right now. Now that I am thinking about it, I wish I had added some shredded coconut and chopped nuts. What was I thinking? Oh well… there’s always tomorrow!

Choco-Cherry “Sorbet”

  • 1 c frozen cherries
  • serving Amazing Grass chocolate SuperGreens Food
  • Barlean’s strawberry banana flax oil
  • pinch ground cardamom
  • tbsp almond milk
  • 1/2 c water
  • vanilla Clearvite

And blend!!! Oooh this was so fun! Especially since I haven’t had anything like ice cream for a long time! Now I want to experiment making lots of ice creams… be on the look out.

After work, I was feeling very snacky. So on the docket was…

Welcome back cocoa-date nut balls!!!

And I picked these up today:

Gluten free ginger snaps. They are the best pre-made gluten free cookies I have tasted thus far. I had two of these as I was cooking dinner and two more after dinner.

I ran to our gym to do a little treadmill workout and then came back to snack on grapes and hit the showers. 

Dinner was very good! I made minestrone soup which I went off a recipe from Vegetarian Times magazine. No pasta, but it had sun-dried tomatoes. It was also super easy. I only wish that I had a nice crusty loaf of bread to dip in the soup. I did what I could with a rice cake with tahini and brewer’s yeast on top.

Now, I am lounging around on the couch with the dogs near and my husband to my left and watching House. I love this show and I love being home with my “kids” and husband!!!

Goodnight to you and I’ll see ya tomorrow!

Kaleigh

One Response to “2 weeks in”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. my favorite detox powder « 2 People, 2 Dogs, 1 Apartment - April 23, 2011

    […] me the past month you would have seen that it is also quite versatile taste-wise. Dreamy Creamy Choco-Cherry Ice Cream Pumpkin Pie Apple Kale(igh)Green SmoothieReally, the possibilities are endless!! I will do a more […]

Leave a Reply

