lovely day

16 Apr

Today was one of those days that is fit for grilling some hot dogs or beef patties (both of which I can’t have right now).

Today was meant for sitting on your lovely porch with the nutritious sun rays beaming down on your exceptionally white legs and curling up with a book and your doggies laying by your side.

Today was meant for saying goodbyes and for dreaming up futures and new recipes.

Today was for munching all day long and trying my hardest not to break the rules and garble up 5 of the special and most amazing peanut butter cookies I made last night.

Today was meant for breaking records of how many times in one day I can use the Vita-mix (4).

Today was meant for children to laugh and play on their bicycles.

All of these things except for the weiners and cow went on today, and I loved it. Today I also realized that I am so behind on reporting my daily meals and eats. It has been a busy couple of days but I most certainly have been still tracking my foods everyday. Which means that there is much to catch up on! To save you from a ridiculously long post, I’ll split up the days. But I will tell you this; I have been eating a lot of good stuff lately!

Wednesday: This day of the week always seems to be a weird day. Dinner time takes place right when we are at youth group and my eating schedule does not allow me to want to have dinner before going. This means I am usually hungry afterwards. I’ve found that generally my body likes to be on a schedule so it does weird things when I don’t follow it.

Breakfast: I started my day off with these babies…I had the time and I just couldn’t help it. Gluten-free pancakes made with garbanzo bean flour, sorghum flour and coconut flour. I topped them with chia seeds, coconut shreds, blueberries, and agave nectar. You have no idea how much these babies hit the spot!!

Luckily Kyle and I had the day off together! We spent the day running errands and enjoying the day together. On a quick stop at home between them all I threw together a Dreamy Creamy smoothie.  I drank this in the car on the way to our next stop, which just so happened to be in close proximity to a Whole Foods. After window shopping on at a few stores, we went over there looking for a little extra somethin’. I went with a small serving their Indian lentil soup (amazing!) and some Greek potatoes (not so great). During the time between getting back home and heading off to go to youth group I snacked on some apple chips that we picked up at Costco and one of my cocoa date/nut bars. After youth group, I was feeling hungry. I thought that I could get away with eating a spoonful of sunbutter…But I was still vying for a little more. I had a small cup of the minestrone I made the other day. I didn’t get a picture of that though.

Thursday: I slept pretty poorly the night before… maybe too many calories too close to bed time. Breakfast was a fresh strawberry banana smoothie.

  • fresh strawberries, about 5
  • banana
  • Barlean’s mango peach fish oil
  • 1/2 c almond milk
  • 1/2 c apple juice
  • vanilla Clearvite

While at work I had a cocoa date/nut bar… it looks really weird in this picture though. Back at home for lunch I made a new smoothie…

Apple Kale(igh) Smoothie

  • small stalk celery
  • 3/4 c kale, stems removed
  • 1/2 c apple juice
  • 1/2 banana
  • juice of half a lemon
  • 1/2 c water
  • vanilla Clearvite
  • 3-4 ice cubes

I did not think I was going to like this because at first scent of the cup… I couldn’t help but think of a lawn, but as soon as I took a sip, I fell in love.

My afternoon snack was a rice cake with sunbutter with agave and chia seeds on top. I ate it as a quick snack as I was getting ready for a hot date. You see, the hot date was in lieu of good news and for a celebration. I got promoted!!! I am so excited about this!! Kyle so lovingly made reservations at a restaurant that we had been desperately wanting to go to for a very long time.

Root Down There couldn’t be a better place to go to while on the detox. The whole experience was awesome and they were completely accommodating to my restrictions. We decided to split a bunch of small plates and we loved every one of them! Gluten free sweet potato falafel (I tried to eat around the yogurt sauce).

Mussels with a curry-wine sauce and the BEST gluten-free bread I’ve EVER had to soak up all the sauce!!Grass-fed buffalo sliders with tomato jam, pickles and house made gluten free bun, sweet potato fries on the side. This was just “ok” to me. I actually only ate half of my slider so that I could save room for dessert…Vegan strawberry mango crumble with sorbet on top. I loved this sooooo much! I definitely ate more than Kyle ;). This meal was amazing and I was so comforted to know that my food did not have any allergens sneaking up on me. It was a great way to celebrate the great news!

Afterwards we went to my brother’s adult hockey league game. They were playing in the championship game and won! Way to go bro!!

Alright, well I think that’s enough info for this post. Good evening to you and I hope this weekend is going well for you so far.

Kaleigh

2 Responses to “lovely day”

  1. Recipe Chefs April 17, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    Excellent post thanks for sharing. Food is something I can enjoy all around. If I’m not eating it. I’m reading and looking at pictures about it.

    Rise n Shine Eggs – Breakfast Recipe

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. my favorite detox powder « 2 People, 2 Dogs, 1 Apartment - April 23, 2011

    […] seen that it is also quite versatile taste-wise. Dreamy Creamy Choco-Cherry Ice Cream Pumpkin Pie Apple Kale(igh)Green SmoothieReally, the possibilities are endless!! I will do a more in-depth re-cap of my detox, but I will say […]

Leave a Reply

