my apologies

26 Apr

There are just certain songs that make you feel free and mysterious (Pink Moon by Nick Drake).

There are just certain holidays that you can’t help but reminisce about your childhood (Easter reminds me of: Little Debbie Nutty Bars in my basket, frilly church dresses and tights and a jelly bean scented stuffed bunny I got one year).

There are just certain smells that make you feel so unbelievably comfy, cozy and utterly content in that very minute (fresh brewed coffee).

There are just certain sounds that make me think of fresh cut grass on a ball field and early morning games with my dad (an aluminum bat being dropped on the ground outside of our apartment).

There are just certain times that you can’t get everything done that you wanted to (finish my detox blog posting, among other things).

With all that has been happening with my job (getting promoted) and trying to relax and make delicious food, I just have not seemed to have a lot of extra time to pursue wrapping up this whole endeavor!

We last left off on day 20:

Breakfast that morning was my new favorite, the Cashew Cream smoothie. I really love this smoothie!

It is so milky smooth and white. It almost seems like you’re having a milkshake from a burger joint!

While at work I had a surprisingly great Larabar, one of their new flavors, Blueberry muffin. I’ve heard a couple people say that they did not like this flavor, but this was the best Larabar I’ve had in a long time!! I worked a long time before I went for lunch so I also had some rice crackers and hummus. 

Lunch was, (surprise, surprise!), another choco-cherry smoothie. I didn’t feel like scooping this one out so I made it more smoothie-like rather than an ice cream texture. 

In this beautiful cup was:

  • 1 c frozen cherries
  • 1/2 c apple juice
  • 1 serving Amazing Grass chocolate GreenSuperfood
  • 1 T Barlean’s Mango-Peach Fish oil
  • 1/2 c almond milk
  • Vanilla Clearvite
As I got home, I was having a sweet tooth attack, and I really just wanted a little something decadent.

What this equated to, was a gluten free english muffin. One side was topped with Sunbutter and dried blueberries and the other had a smidge of Earth Balance soy free spread and a sprinkle of sugar and cinnamon…. yuuuuuum.

Dinner was AmaZing!! I got the idea from another blogger, but did a few twists. I made a sweet potato and kale frittata. With some grapes on the side, it blew my mind. I even went back for seconds!

Day 21 went a little like this:

Breakfast was a Dreamy Creamy. I just couldn’t help myself. The last day had to end with it!

After eating this, we got ourselves and the pups ready to head out for a hike in Boulder. As we drove there I told Kyle that Boulder will always have a special place in my heart. It is where I first fell in love with Kyle, where I took my SAT’s (really bad score), and where we got married, among other great memories. It was a beautiful day for a hike! Unfortunately our dogs were not all that well behaved (they just get so excited!) and instead of really getting to enjoy the park, we instead had to deal with our unruly pups (which equals an 2 angry people). After about and hour and a half hike, we moved out. On the way home we snacked on some homemade trail mix, sunflower seeds, dried apples, dried blueberries and almonds.I was really craving a hummus and veggie sandwich on the ride home, so that is exactly what I threw together!!

This baby rocked my world!! The sandwich included:

  • Gluten free english muffin, toasted
  • hummus
  • tsp mayo + 1/2 tsp dijon mustard + a light sprinkle of curry powder, all mixed up
  • cucumber, thinly sliced
  • spinach
  • carrot ribbons
On the side I had the rest of the carrot and black olives…a PERFECT lunch!!
I can’t remember eating a snack, or if I did that afternoon, it went undocumented!
The rest of the day was spent taking a little nap, reading and then heading off to a Denver bar and grill for dinner. I cheated a smidge and had a “gluten-free” hamburger with guacamole and fries… which that basically meant, “no bun”. I was a little taken aback by my bun-less wonder, but it still was delicious and a bit of a splurge after 21 days. After dinner was a special treat….LET’S GO ROCKIES!!!! We actually left early because it was ridiculously cold and we just couldn’t hold out any longer, and they lost, but it was still great to get to go see them!! We’re both looking forward to more games that are much much more weather friendly.
So there you have it!! 21 days of detox meals! I promise a more in-depth recap of how I’m feeling and where do I go from here. I just think this has been a long enough post for now, and I hear sweet nothings coming from my pillow…
Kaleigh
Leave a Reply

