the baby chronicles

30 Sep

So yes, big changes are on the way for us.

Are we ready for them? Yes and no.

This baby doesn’t come as much of a surprise as we were not, “not trying” to have one. But still a surprise nonetheless! So far I have had a range of several emotions regarding the welcoming of a new life into this world. I have felt extreme gratitude as I mentioned in the last post. This has been peppered with a small shocks of fear in the realization that this is actually happening. I’ve also been lost in fantastic day dreams in trying to imagine what our baby will look like, to hear their laugh, and snuggling up against their soft chubby cheeks.

12 week bump shot

But being 12 weeks in, I have also felt my share of pregnancy related issues. As it turns out, I was pregnant while we were on our trip to California. While there, I wanted french fries non-stop. This craving hasn’t stopped since, either! I just can not get enough of french fries with ranch dressing! In general I have been craving salty foods, eggs, as well as crunchy chips and fruit juices/lemonade. There was a good 2-3 weeks where I truly lost my appetite. I could not eat anything in the morning at all and I was so nauseous through out the day that the only thing that sounded remotely appealing was soup and fried eggs. I never got to the point of throwing up, but the nausea was strong enough to keep my appetite at bay. I’m having struggles with eating healthily as many things do not sound good to me at all. I will exaggerate on this later and give more insights into what I have been eating.

The first week after getting back from California, I felt great. No differences. Then all of a sudden I lost all energy. It was extremely hard for me to get through an eight hour day. I fell asleep on the couch as soon as I got home from work and I felt like I could easily sleep through the night if I went to bed at 8:30. As of today, I feel my energy slowly coming back to me, but I still feel the need to nap and would love to get 10 hours of sleep per night!

I’ve got the sewing bug and already have desired to start making things for baby. Especially after perusing and purchasing this book! We’ve received our first baby gift from my mother-in-law. The cutest booties ever! We have also been to the thrift store to pick up a few basic onesies that I can’t wait to print designs on.

Baby tube socks!!

According to our scale at home, I have not gained any weight. In fact I lost a couple since arriving home from California. Everything I have read says this is perfectly normal in the first trimester. Although I did have an interesting conversation the other day while at work:

Co-worker: How far along are you?

Me: 11 weeks. Why do you ask?

Co-worker: Are you growing two babies in there?

Me: (laughs, slightly taken aback and embarassed) Ha, the picture only showed one! Although there is a possibility of two is good! In case you weren’t aware, Kyle is a twin! 

SO apparently I am showing already. It’s hard for me to really tell right now, except for the sheer fact that I had to go buy maternity pants a few days ago. I’ve already outgrown all but two of my “regular” pants, and even those were becoming less and less comfortable as the days have gone by.

How has Kyle been through all of this? He seems to be experiencing mostly the same emotions as I am. Just yesterday he said that it still does not seem real to him.  And he’s definitely not ready to talk about the birthing process. And quite frankly, I don’t know if I am either. The other day babycenter.com sent me an email about viewing natural birth and a c-section and the thought of watching that did not appeal to me in the least. Granted, I WAS eating lunch… soooo, yeah. Which makes me think, how was I EVER ready to watch this in middle school health class?!

We have another appointment today, so hopefully we will get another shot of our little one!

Kaleigh

Leave a Reply

